Screen issues after 3.2.2 updateSupport


Last Updated:

  1. BlackberrySux

    BlackberrySux Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    7
    **The title of the thread should read 2.3.3**

    Have an LG Shine Plus c710h on Telus network. Did the 2.3.3 upgrade and once yesterday and TWICE today from an unplugged idle state with the screen off I go to use the phone and the screen wont turn on. All the buttons light up but cant get nothing on the screen. Only way to get the screen back is to remove/replace the battery. I thought battery pulls were a Blackberry thing. Anyone else having this problem since the upgrade or know of a possible solution to this issue?
     

    Advertisement
    Grimace780 likes this.
  2. karendar

    karendar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    60
    Happened to me once, didn't think anything of it... It's like it goes into deep sleep but can't handle it. Is it after a long period of inactivity?
     
  3. barney_rebel

    barney_rebel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    11
    Happened to me once or twice too. I was using the phone fine 5 minutes beforehand.
     
  4. BlackberrySux

    BlackberrySux Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    7
    4th time about 5 minutes ago. @karendar: I would have to say yes on that. I tend to notice it if I go for a walk and come back or if I go to sleep it will be that after I wake up. Seems fine with use but after inactivity then this seems to happen yes.
     
  5. karendar

    karendar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    60
    Hey all, I reverted back to 2.1 because the screen freeze + wifi issues are actually true. If you want to revert back to 2.1, I suggest doing so through Nandroid... I guess I'll wait a little longer for Gingerbread. ;) The improvement was quite minor anyhow, so I don't care...
     
  6. BlackberrySux

    BlackberrySux Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    7
    Time #5...Looks like I may have to go back. Starting to piss me off now.
     
  7. BlackberrySux

    BlackberrySux Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    7
    K well looks like I might be stuck with this problem because all this rooting stuff is beyond me and when I did the update I had the SD card removed from the phone sooooooooooooo no backup files:mad:
     
  8. BlackberrySux

    BlackberrySux Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    7
    Interesting side note on this...When this happened before I was sleeping during the DAYTIME. Went to sleep last night, plugged the phone in and it seems fine right now so its looking like this screen issue happens after a period of inactivity while UNPLUGGED.
     
  9. BlackberrySux

    BlackberrySux Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    7
    Woke up, phone was plugged in. All is well. Unplugged now and on a full charge. Gonna leave it sit for 2 hours and check it. Would have disabled data connections so nothing makes it ring but it would be in a different state while trying replicate the problem.
     
  10. BlackberrySux

    BlackberrySux Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    7
    About an hour & a half passed, got to make a call. Screen turned back on fine. Failed to replicate problem.
     
  11. funpig

    funpig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    68
    The blackout screen problem is very intermittent and unpredictable for me. One time it blacked out when I plugged in charger. Another time it blacked out while I was running Runkeeper GPS. I have had to pull my battery out more times in the last two days than in the last 11 months.
     
  12. BlackberrySux

    BlackberrySux Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have not had any more screen problems since I last mentioned it. However in place my flashlight app https://market.android.com/details?id=com.devuni.flashlight&hl=en seems to have stopped working. I installed that AFTER the upgrade and it worked fine yesterday then I went to use it, it all of the sudden today does not work. I downloaded https://market.android.com/details?...mNvbS5zb2NpYWxubW9iaWxlLmhkLmZsYXNobGlnaHQiXQ.. and https://market.android.com/details?...mNoLnNtYWxsdGVjaC5sZWRmbGFzaGxpZ2h0LmZyZWUiXQ.. as TEST replacements and they both seem to work fine. The first link is the one I like though. Uninstalled - rebooted - reinstalled - rebooted again and it still does not work. Battery is full and the phone is plugged in. Anyone else use that flashlight and have it stop working??
     
  13. karendar

    karendar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    60
    If anyone has a sure fire way of replicating the issue, a logcat might help. To get a logcat, get the logcat application from the Android Market and then post what you have on www.pastebin.com (Saves our forums from being cluttered with random garbage) and post the link here. With that, we might be able to pinpoint the application/module that's causing the screen freezes and try and replace it with another version (From 2.1 ROM possibly). Jiilik figured out that most of the work on the new ROM was done on the system partition, so no kernel work is required (Thank God!)​
     
  14. BlackberrySux

    BlackberrySux Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    7
    Still no screen issues yet but I am going to be getting the app you mentioned a little later in case the screen does do that again as well as it may say whats up with my flashlight app.
     
  15. karendar

    karendar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    60
    Hi,

    Thanks. Didn't have time to test the flashlight app yesterday, I was deep into the framework-res. ;)
     
  16. BlackberrySux

    BlackberrySux Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    7
    Screen just did it again from an unplugged state. Installed "aLogCat (Free)". Haven't touched any settings, just letting it run.
     
    karendar likes this.
  17. karendar

    karendar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    60
    k, if it freezes again, just give me a decent block from the bottom of the log... If you post the entire log, I'll be at it for years. ;) haha
     
  18. BlackberrySux

    BlackberrySux Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    7
    Screen froze 2 more times. Once while I was out and once again about a half hour ago. Went to logcat - share - emailed it to myself and this is what I got back in the email http://pastebin.com/6D4GkUhx
     
  19. BlackberrySux

    BlackberrySux Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    7
    OK so new to this Android stuff but if I have my terms correct anyone know if there is a "ROM" around anywhere for what I had last which was "LG-C710h-V10d"? Want to revert now but had no SD in when I updated.
     
  20. BlackberrySux

    BlackberrySux Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    7
  21. BlackberrySux

    BlackberrySux Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    7
    Still cant find 2.1.
     
  22. karendar

    karendar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    60
    As mentionned in all things root thread, the 2.1 version that's on there is the stock version and should theoretically work. Then again as stated in a few threads, I'm afraid that going from 2.1 to 2.3.3 updates the radio ROM...

    Can you do me a favor? Can you go in the terminal app, type:

    mount >/sdcard/mount.txt

    And then attach that file to this thread? This'll give me the partition layout information of the Shine Plus.
     
  23. BlackberrySux

    BlackberrySux Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    7
    Also tried the normal factory reset via the phone menu and restore key combo and still on 2.3.3.

    After about 3.5 hours of Telus telling me to contact LG and LG telling me to contact Telus and Listening to Hanson and Kenny Rogers while on hold with
    Telus they said the are sending me a "loaner phone" that is no longer in loaner status to have while this one is sent in for repair. (Need to erase all traces that this phone has been rooted now) and after this one comes back I can keep the loaner because of my 9 year "tenure" with them and they could tell I was starting to get pissed. So from what I understand I am getting another one of these phones previously used as a loaner with no warranty to keep which is fine by me.

    As per your request:

    $ mount >/sdcard/mount.txt
    Cannot create sdcard/mount.txt: Permission Denied
    $ su
    # mount >/sdcard/mount.txt
    Cannot create sdcard/mount.txt: read-only sytem file
    ~Tried once more~
    # mount >/sdcard/mount.txt
    Cannot create sdcard/mount.txt: read-only sytem file
    #
     
  24. BlackberrySux

    BlackberrySux Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    7
    FFS might help if there was actually an SD card in there. Removed it when I tried to do the factory reset via phone menu. OK the mount file is attached.
     

    Attached Files:

    karendar likes this.
  25. BlackberrySux

    BlackberrySux Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    7
    Figured with everything I have done and tried on my phone I would try the 2.3.3 update again to get a fresh install since it was re-released.

    Run LG PC Suite IV
    New phone software is available for LG-C710h Do you want to update now?
    Yes -> Connecting
    Phone software withoutout backup (I have enough backups now)
    "When updating mobile phone software data may be deleted" -> OK

    LG mobile update launches
    Checking for new LG updates
    Cheking Connection
    Checkin software version
    Phone connected
    Then LG mobile update says I'm up to date and dont need to upgrade.

    So basically LG PC Suite IV says there are updates availbe but the LG mobile update tool say I'm up to date.
     

Share This Page

Loading...