Screen keeps locking!!


Last Updated:

  1. jkruer01

    jkruer01 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Within the past week my droids screen started locking everytime I was on a call. This is very annoying!! I call my voicemail and before I am allowed to enter my password I have to unlock the screen. When I finish a call I have to unlock the screen before I hang up. When I leave a voicemail I have to unlock the screen before I hang up! This is driving me nuts!!! Please someone tell me how to fix this problem.

    Thanks!
    Jeremy
     

    Advertisement
  2. (G)

    (G) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    47
    Can you go into settings and change the time before the screen is locked to something longer than what it already is?
     
  3. jkruer01

    jkruer01 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't see that as an option anywhere.

    Jeremy
     
  4. (G)

    (G) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    47
    Sorry...

    Menu / settings / sound & display / screen timeout (very last thing on the list)

    You have a choice of 15 seconds, 30 sec, 1 min, 2 min, 10 min, or 30 min.
     
  5. shizzy1427

    shizzy1427 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    36
    Is the phone next to your face?
     
  6. jkruer01

    jkruer01 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. jkruer01

    jkruer01 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Screen timeout is set to 1 minute. I'm not talking about the screen turning off/going black.

    When I make a phone call and put the phone to my ear, the screen turns off as always, however, before when I pulled it away from my ear the screen turned back on and the phone display was shown where I could end a call, pull up the dial pad, turn on speaker phone etc. Now, when I pull the phone away from my ear, the screen turns back on, but it is locked so I have to unlock the phone (put in the pattern) before I can end the call, pull up the dial pad, turn on speaker phone, etc. It did not use to be this way before. It is very annoying because, for example, I call my voicemail, put it to my ear just long enough to hear the prompt for my password, and when I pull it away the screen is locked and I have to unlock (put in the pattern) before I can even pull up the dial pad to enter my password.

    Also, I can't remember if it has always been this way or not, but now I noticed when I get a call, I have to unlock the phone (put in the pattern) before the screen will even show me who is calling. I have missed several phone calls recently because it took me too long to get the pattern entered before it went to voicemail. Like I said, it may have always been like this but I never noticed it before.

    Thanks!
    Jeremy
     
  8. shizzy1427

    shizzy1427 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    36
    I think its a bug with the lock pattern, when it was working did you have a lock pattern set?
     
  9. jkruer01

    jkruer01 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't remember. I will deactivate the lock pattern and see if that fixes it.

    Jeremy
     
  10. PAL

    PAL New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    The same exact thing is happening to me. It was not always this way, but has started in the last week or two. I disabled my lock pattern to see if that would fix it, but it doesn't. I now have to swipe to unlock before I can answer a call, end a call, pull up dial pad, anything! It's especially annoying if I have to call a business with a menu system. I have to unlock the screen before pressing each menu selection. Could it be a particular app we installed that caused this to happen? I only have a few, the most recent was Handcent SMS I believe. Please help!
     
  11. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4,219
    Likes Received:
    3,492
    Did it start after 2.1? I thought I read that one of the "fixes" was for security/unlock pattern...maybe they broke it? Or, if you aren't updated yet maybe it really will fix it :)
    I don't have a suggestion or can't offer any help though, just thought it may be related.
     

Share This Page

Loading...