Screen rotation on BB1.1


Last Updated:

  1. Jinnai

    Jinnai Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Odd question here..running BB1.1, but it doesn't allow the screen to rotate automatically, even though that option is turned on in the settings. I noticed Ultimate 3.7 does allow this, what other ROMs allow it? It's a minor feature, but one I like to have....
     

    Advertisement
  2. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    That feature can be turned on or off by the dev's...not the end user. Remember your stock rom that came with the droid? You couldn't see the home screen unless you opened the keyboard...same thing with Bugless. I like that feature as well but I can see why people don't like it too.
     
  3. Jinnai

    Jinnai Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, on the stock ROM, it's a setting so that it "reads" the accelerometer and determines whether the screen should be in portrait or landscape mode (hit Settings in the Home Screen, under "sound & Display"). So I would guess it's a user-option that the dev can disable...just wondering what other ROMs the devs have decided to allow this. So far, I have one each way :D
     
  4. ssantan2

    ssantan2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    20
    people keep saying this is an option but I have not once seen it work for the home screen. I am almost positive that what that setting does is turn on or off orientation switching on all apps (even if the app has rotate checked) but has no bearing on the home screen. motorola even said the home screen isnt suppose to switch unless the keyboard is open
     
  5. Jinnai

    Jinnai Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm...mine did originally, that was one of the first differences I noticed after loading a custom ROM....odd, ah well.
     
  6. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    my home screen never switched before I rooted. The only rom I have used that did it was Droid Mod.
     

Share This Page

Loading...