screen timeout broken, keeps screen ON and drains.Support


Last Updated:

  1. lizebird

    lizebird New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    My screen timeout is set to 15 sec, but ever since a few weeks ago, it stays on. Whenever I check, the timeout gets changes to 1 minute. HOW/WHY does this happen? I've reset it each time. It always just goes back.

    No apps are "automatic", or reset this. It just starting draining my battery before I noticed why.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Mistabonez

    Mistabonez Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Have you checked to see if you have it active in your Smart Actions app?
     
  3. carracerz14

    carracerz14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    176
    Is it that hard to hit the power button tot turn the screen off? Personally I never rely on auto timeout because sometimes I only need to check my phone for a second and there's no point in leaving the screen on..
     
  4. xTye

    xTye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    11
    This is what I was going to say.

    It's not hard...at all.
     
    carracerz14 likes this.
  5. Bugly

    Bugly VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    104
    Another thing a lot of people forget to try is a reboot. I can't tell you how many times that has fixed really weird stuff happening on my phones, BlackBerry, Android, you name it. Sometimes stuff just gets hung up in the RAM and won't let go....
     
  6. razrclive

    razrclive Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    14
    As said just use the power button to turn off display instantly. And use the timeout just for the times you forget. 1 minute is not a bad setting and should not drain battery much on a Razr Maxx on the few times you forget the switch to do it manually..
     
  7. teddyearp

    teddyearp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    826
    lizebird since you posted this same question in multiple Motorola Phone sections, can we also ask you to tell us exactly which phone model you are having problems with?

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...