screen turning black issue ?Support


Last Updated:

  1. iBleedBlackNgold

    iBleedBlackNgold Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    11
    is any1 having the issue where the screen goes black in middle of use after a momentary pause but the soft keys are lit up and nothing can be done to wake up screen yet keys stay lit & only thing to solve issue is pulling battery as a means to soft reset phone ? i already hard reset device cuz of this & phone is 100% stock including zero market apps
     

    Advertisement
  2. Android XTC

    Android XTC Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    42
    Yes this has happened to me. Its the proximity sensor if you hold the screen to the light it should come back on.
     
  3. iBleedBlackNgold

    iBleedBlackNgold Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    11
    ill try it next time it happens .... after this post it froze on the browser and required a battery pull ... i cant win lol
     
  4. acasalin

    acasalin Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    My Epic is going back tomorrow for a replacement...Constantly locking up and bricking with the bottom key lights on and no response. I also have to take battery out and replace it...Happens in dark and sunlight...no matter.

    At first I thought it was due to market live wallpapers, but it began to do it on static wallpapers also...and it is happening more often...the phone is trwo weeks old.

    It happens when the phone goes into sleep mode by itself...it bricks when I attempt to wake it up.

    Took it to a Sprint Service store...the technician didn't believe me and told me to get rid of the advanced task killer...I did in the store...and as I was walking out..it bricked ! lol !...He ordered me a replacement saying its the first one he's seen do it !

    After searching this bug on the net...it seems that others are having the same problem...I wonder if Sprint knows...and is providing a fix...it sure seems like software issues...this is a great phone...I'd hate to switch to an EVO
     
  5. iBleedBlackNgold

    iBleedBlackNgold Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    11
    i swapped it first thing yesterday morning .... my phone was starting to act in many other strange ways .. my issues cant be related to any issue other then phone itself as i never ever dl any market apps, unrooted & 100% stock
     
  6. Markus729

    Markus729 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    31
    Mine has just started to do this to me after swiping to unlock. I think I can attribute the only difference being that I've added a few apps, but it sounds like this happens when you don't have any apps, too.

    Is this the start of something bad? Do I need to replace my phone?
     
  7. iBleedBlackNgold

    iBleedBlackNgold Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    11
    hard resets didnt fix my issue so it wouldnt hurt to go get a swap .. they offered me a dif model device since this is epic #4 in 3 weeks but i opted to tough it out.
     
  8. badankles

    badankles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    90
    if after hard reset (and you didn't reinstalled any apps) and still happens, then i agree it's a problem with the phone. this happened to be once, and it was because i installed a non-compatible app.
     
  9. Markus729

    Markus729 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    31
    I noticed this problem, after turning on my phone the last 2 mornings...

    Well, for me, I think I resolved the issue, but it may be coincidental. I create my own wallpaper designs and my screen would go black (sometimes with nothing on the screen, sometimes all black by my home screen icons would be visible. I replaced my wallpaper with a stock one, and it came back instantly. No more black screen, and I didn't remove battery or turn it completely off. It's been a few hours and no problems.
     
  10. fsnoles

    fsnoles New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had the same issue the past 2 days. Got the phone on Saturday. (I actually got 2 - one for me and one for my wife.) My wife's was fine, but mine has been locking up in the morning when I unlock. Blue LED is on indicating the battery is fully charged. Soft keys are lit. Screen is black. Nothing responds. Had to do a batter pull the past 2 days. If it happens again tomorrow morning, I'm going back to get a new one.
     
  11. iBleedBlackNgold

    iBleedBlackNgold Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    11
    dont hesitate .... with my most recent issue i didnt even pull the battery i kept it as is and went to the sprint store with the issue. but this was more then the black screen
     
  12. Flaspeneer

    Flaspeneer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    24
    I experienced occasional slowing and lockups after telling Launcher Pro to revert to default settings on a new Epic that was using the old SD card. Shortcuts to apps that weren't even on the current phone reappeared. Everything went back to normal after I reset the phone and created a new default setting.

    I suppose someone who's more knowledgeable might have identified the incorrect setting file and deleted it. Since my phone was slowing down already, I didn't want to take a chance on deleting the wrong thing and creating more issues.
     
  13. acasalin

    acasalin Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2

    got my new Epic today after returning old because of lockups...but what you say may be right....I had a screen protector on the old phone, which may have blocked the proximity sensor....maybe I shouldn't put a screen protector on the new phone...its working great.
     

Share This Page

Loading...