SD card corruption - please help!


Last Updated:

  1. GuitarDemon

    GuitarDemon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've rooted my phone, reformatted SD card (Kingston brand - not a cheapo one), created EXT3 partition using Rom Manager, and installed the LeeDroid flavour of Froyo.

    Everything works perfectly, until I copy the photos (which I took on my Desire before rooting) back to the DCIM folder. I let the phone create this folder by taking a few pictures (I tried previously to create the DCIM folder with the same problem).

    Now the SD card will only mount read only, and it appears that a few folders are corrupted on the SD card, as when I'm browsing the folders using Astro, when I pick the DCIM folder, Astro closes instantly.

    Can anyone please help me resolve this problem? I'm really starting to wish I hadn't rooted the thing in the first place - I only rooted because I'd run out of phone storage and wanted more apps... and was sick of waiting for Orange to finish screwing with their Froyo release.

    Any help would be MUCH appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    i dont think rooting caused this problem.
    I would get a microsd-usb converter and plug it directly into pc as a pen drive and see what you can salvage before formating
     
  3. GuitarDemon

    GuitarDemon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried formatting using WinXP PC, but it didn't work properly, as I don't think WinXP would recognise and delete an EXT3 partition. I booted from a GPart disk, and deleted all partitions, and reformatted FAT32, created partition using Rom Manager in phone, and everything worked perfectly until I copied my old data from a backup. I've just been told in a reply in the XDA forum that the SD card is faulty. I can't believe this, as it's the same card I used before I installed Froyo. Strange one, this....
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    can you mount in windows, right click, properties, tools, check for errors?
     
  5. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    Just a thought, but do you know it could always be a glitch in the rom you are using itself.
    This could be caused on download or even on installation, so after you have checked your sd card in your pc if it is ok try reinstalling the rom.
     
  6. sookster54

    sookster54 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    56
    It's not a myth, I setup A2SD yesterday and it was working fine until last night I started having problems reading the SDcard, I took the card out and put it in my laptop and did a check and sure enough there were a pile of errors, so I got rid of the 512MB ext3/6GB fat32 then repartitoned it back to 8GB fat32 and restored the files I had previously saved onto my PC.
     
  7. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    could well be the custom rom then, like i said. rooting wouldnt cause this issue
     
  8. sookster54

    sookster54 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    56
    Using stock rooted Froyo. Nothing custom about it other than it being rooted.
     
  9. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    The errors in the rom may have been caused in the download process, after downloading anything is not always guaranteed to be perfect
     
  10. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    its not stock rooted froyo tho is it?
    you are using apps2sd which is not included in any stock roms
    Foyos own version of this feature does not require an ext3 partition
     
  11. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Apps2sd or A2SD is included in ALL stock 2.2 Roms, because that is Google's version.

    Apps2SD+ or A2SD+ is not. That is the original and frankly, far superior version, which is included in most Custom roms and installable on any rooted ROM.
     
  12. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    I know this. I think you are missing the point completely. This issue is not because he rooted the phone. It's because of modifications made to the system once root had been achieved requiring sdcard to have an ext3partision which has resulted in corruption.default froyo apps2sd does not require this nor does there seem to be reports of corruption. This ould suggest its apps2sd+ causing an issue or the ext3 as root only gives you Su

    His post gives the impression that rooting a device has negative effects when infact the only thing it does if give the user an ability to do something that "could" have a negative effect.
    That's why I said rooting did not cause this issue
     
  13. sookster54

    sookster54 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    56
    I didn't say rooting caused the corruption, I specifically said that I installed A2SD (Darktremor), and after that it happened. There's a thread at XDA on this subject, but it hasn't gotten an accurate answer to what causes it. It was working fine for the day but when I went to access files on the Fat32 partition such as music files and pictures, the phone was unable to read them, then when I did a partition check on my Linux laptop it said several errors were there, it's a stock SDcard that came with the Desire. I picked up a Sandisk 8GB. And I said I'm using teppic74's stock rooted Froyo, no modifcations to it other than root.
     
  14. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    You are not the op, the ops post can be interpreted as root causing the problemsas he wishes he had never rooted. Why would I be talking about you when you already found the issue and fixed it?
     

Share This Page

Loading...