SD card hot swappable?General


Last Updated:

  1. bottlecap

    bottlecap Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    1
    I would try, but coming from the Blackberry world you learn not to mess with technology. Is it possible to hot swap the SD card in the Eris?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Copa Native

    Copa Native Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    3
    Not entirely sure of 'hot swap' terminology, but you can unmount the card then remove it all while the phone is on.
     
  3. superchaos

    superchaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    36
    No, you have to unmount it with the phone's software first.
     
  4. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    63
    This may not be recommended, but I did it just to see what happens...

    I have taken mine out and put it back in while the phone was on, without doing any "mounting" or anything. When I put it back in, I was still able to to access my music and pictures without a restart.
     
  5. superchaos

    superchaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    36
    I believe the problems arise when you have screen savers and information on the card (contact photos) that are not found when you put in a different card and access the programs that request the information.
     
  6. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    The manual says to power down the phone before removing the SD card. In fact it specifies off, as opposed to just asleep. To my way of thinking, that says 'no' to a hot swap.
     
  7. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    63
    I think that's just to cover liability. Just like in Windows, you're supposed to do the "Remove USB" or whatever it is, before unplugging a USB drive. I also put this in and out without doing so, with no problems.

    I personally believe that problems should only arise if you remove the card while data is actually being written. But I am always careful not to do that ;)
     
  8. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,692
    Likes Received:
    8,365
    The problem would occur when you replaced the original card with a new one. You might have a bit of trouble accessing information that the phone doesn't know is there.

    It is best to unmount the card and then mount the new one so that the phone knows there is new data to scan. Very easy to do. Settings > SD card & phone storage > Unmount SD card. Once the new card is in simply mount it and you are done.
     
  9. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    63
    Hmm, true, I did use the same card, no additional (or missing) data, and I did not do anything while the card was out... Good call! :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...