SD Card only showing 200mbGeneral

Last Updated:

1. lespaulist

lespaulist Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Hey Everyone,
    I inserted a new 8gb micro sd card loaded with music. The phone kept saying that it was having issues reading the card so I formatted it with the built in android utility. Now, the card is only showing 200mb of total space in android. Anyone know what's going on? I'm new to android so I'm not sure if i am doing something wrong.

Thanks.

Advertisement
  2. jwm2

jwm2 Well-Known Member

Connect your phone to your pc and see what it says in the properties section for storage used and available. If it sees the entire 8gb or close, then i'd so a soft reset/reboot and see if that changes anything. Also when you unmount the sd card it will reprocess itself and might fix the issue as well.

3. lukem

lukem Well-Known Member

Not sure. I put in my 16GB card straight out of my Moto Droid and it works fine. Showing 14.83GB total and 8.45GB Available.

4. lespaulist

Ok, the sd card showed up properly in windows before i formatted it. I've done a soft reset and unmonuted the card and it still shows up as 200mb totalspace under sd crad. Weird.

5. da_knowledge

da_knowledge Active Member

Did your format the card first? If not, backup the music and try to format the card with the phone. See if that helps.

6. lespaulist

Yea,I formatted the card via the device. I'l ltry and format it again on my computer.

7. nyngbld

nyngbld Well-Known Member

do you have another SD card to test with? maybe something up with your device...

8. lespaulist

Ok, so I htink I figured it out and this may help some others too.