SD card problemGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. justlaxin

    justlaxin Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am not sure whether or not this is related to the 2.1 upgrade, but I never saw this problem before. When I try to download something to my eris, specifically a book on Aldiko, I get a message saying "please make sure your SD card is present and that your device is not in 'USB Storage' mode." I tried restarting the phone, removing and putting the SD card back in, actually connecting my phone to my computer and making sure I selected charge only. Is there some way to correct this problem?

    Thanks for the help!
     

    Advertisement
  2. TTupa

    TTupa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    9
    I'm not sure if this helps, but I had a similar issue with a program that provides backgrounds. When I tried to save any to my card it would error saying to make sure the card is present and mounted. Well it definitely was. I tried removing it, rebooting the phone, plugging it in and mounting/unmounting. What worked was reinstalling the app. I'm on 2.1 OTA.

    In your case maybe a factory reset is in order.
     
  3. Munkyme

    Munkyme Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    I was having issues with my sd card & other various problems after the update (stock 1.5 to OTA 2.1). After formatting the sd card, things were still wonky.

    I tried the fast boot/ clear cache method that TheNestor suggested in the sticky thread at the top of the forum & my phone is working great!

    I've searched everywhere for exact instructions on how to do it but couldn't locate anything, so, after getting to the menu, I had to press a few buttons ... but it worked.

    I'm hoping someone will post exact instructions soon!

    Good luck!
     
  4. howyman

    howyman Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am haven problems too.. i cant save anything to my card or will the computer see the card when charged mounted or unmounted.
    where is the piece theNestor suggested. i couldn't find that sticky???
     
  5. Munkyme

    Munkyme Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    THE FACTORY DATA RESET OPTION by FRISCO.

    THENestor's post is 4 or 5 posts down, on the first page.

    Unfortunately, when you get into the "boot menu," you will have to figure out how to navigate to the CLEAR CACHE option.

    Try using the track ball ... or maybe the volume rocker. I don't remember what worked.

    I wish there was a sticky thread at the top of the forums for the CLEAR CACHE option!

    It worked beautifully for me & would probably solve a lot of the OTA update problems that people are having ... without a factory reset!

    If it works for you, please thank THENestor!!!
     
    thenestor likes this.
  6. justlaxin

    justlaxin Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Managed to fix the problem. Had to reinstall the app. I also tried clearing the cache, but that didn't seem to change anything. Thanks for the help.

    If you were looking for THENestor's instructions, here they are:
    Originally Posted by thenestor [​IMG]
    I don't want to reboot my phone right now because I'm using it, but can someone document the exact steps for clearing the cache using Fastboot/Recovery and post that here? I feel like that will save a lot of people a lot of trouble, because they won't have to reinstall everything.

    I believe the instructions are these, but I can't check right now:

    1. Turn off the phone.
    2. Hold down VOL DOWN and POWER. It will search for the files like PB00IMG.zip, etc..etc..
    3. Scroll down to RECOVERY and press the POWER button. The phone will reboot with an exclamation point.
    4. Press the HOME soft button and the POWER button at the same time, and you should be presented with a menu.
    5. One of the options should be "clear cache". Click it.

    For step 4, I had to use Vol Up and Power instead of Home and Power buttons for whatever reason.
     
    thenestor likes this.
  7. jimbo913

    jimbo913 New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    same here.
     
  8. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    is the option to select wipe cache partition? ???
     
  9. shongzah

    shongzah Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    FWIW, I fixed my issue with Google Listen by uninstalling and re-installing. *shrug*
     
  10. jimbo913

    jimbo913 New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did the cache clear thing, and no dice. I was having the problem with Astro, and a reinstall worked for that. But I can't unistall NoteEverything without deleting all my notes (no way I am doing that).

    I have been in communication with the tech support/developer for NoteEverything and he said there was a change in the way that 1.5 and 2.0 (and over) get permission to use the SD Card. A reinstall seems to correct this. I am hoping that when an update comes out for NoteEverything (in mid July), that this will take care of the issue. Probably not though...
     
  11. agorillago

    agorillago Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I realize no one really wants to go to the trouble having to re-install all of their apps. But both my wife's Eris and mine were having practically every problem posted since the OTA, including SD card access issues (i.e. rename, save & moving files). Despite having wiped the cache partition on both phones, many problems persisted immediately or returned sporadically.

    I finally gave in and did a hard (factory) reset on both phones and problems were immediately gone.
     
  12. agorillago

    agorillago Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I realize no one really wants to go to the trouble having to re-install all of their apps. But both my wife's Eris and mine were having practically every problem posted since the OTA, including SD card access issues (i.e. rename, save & moving files). Despite having wiped the cache partition on both phones, many problems persisted immediately or returned sporadically.

    I finally gave in and did a hard (factory) reset on both phones and problems were immediately gone.
     
  13. jimbo913

    jimbo913 New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is not that I mind doing the factory reset as long as I know I could get things back. But I am hosed on the NoteEverything, as the only way to back up is to the card, which I can't access. No way I am willing to lose all those notes.
     
  14. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    i read like a douche sorry
     
  15. JF492

    JF492 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had same problem with Aldiko. I uninstalled and reinstalled and that seems to have done the trick. Hope this helps.
     

Share This Page

Loading...