SD card removed itself?Support


Last Updated:

  1. m0n!c@

    m0n!c@ New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone else having this issue with Optimus?
     

    Advertisement
  2. jen8112

    jen8112 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    34
  3. richierrs

    richierrs New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the optimus s and im having the same problem. pisses me off cuz its a great phone :(
     
  4. Rhanebeaux

    Rhanebeaux New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. jtcady

    jtcady Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    10
    It's not the phone. Either a bad batch of cards or they were formatted wrong. Just buy a sandisk sd and it should go away.
     
  6. apinkel

    apinkel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    99
    I don't know that anyone knows the exact cause yet.

    Some folks have reformatted the card and it's cleared up the issue, for others the problem returns after a period of time. Others have swapped out the card which has cleared up the issue, for others the problem returns. It may be related to the card getting corrupted when connecting/disconnecting from a PC over USB but noone has been able to nail anything down for certain yet (at least that I've heard).

    From all indications there's no clear solution.

    I've been lucky. I haven't had this problem yet. If it's any help, here's what I've done to date. I swapped out the stock card for a 4GB sandisk, I unmounted and reformatted the card on the phone and I always use the "safely remove hardware" function in windows when I have the phone connected in mass storage mode. I also almost never connect to my PC anymore via USB... I use dropbox to sync files between my phone and my pc.
     
  7. Ma}{imus

    Ma}{imus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    38
    I've exchanged my phone because of this issue and continuous boot loops. With the new device I haven't had the issue anymore. I followed the formatting directions before exchanging and it didn't clear up. Loving the new one though.
     
  8. jmasucci

    jmasucci New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    This isnt true no matter how many times people say it in every forum. Every card manufacturer I can think of has same issue. Mine happens to be sandisk but my coworker has some off-brand chinese crap and it has the same issue. This sd card worked on 3 phones before this flawlesslly
     
  9. tigagreen

    tigagreen New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had my Optimus a month and it just started last week, it has happened three times now. No new apps have been loaded in the last three weeks.

    I never power off the phone and yesterday I noticed I wasn't getting any pop mail for about three days, (google and Yahoo mail was fine). Powered down and restarted cleared the mail problem.

    I think it's a memory leak or something similar, I'm going to try and restart each morning to see what happens.

    Do love the phone though...

    Tigagreen
     
  10. Ma}{imus

    Ma}{imus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    38
    I had this problem non stop when I got my optimus s from Best Buy. Eventually my device started going into continuous boot loops and locking up multiple times a day. I cruised the forums and did the whole reformat thing to no avail. I eventually got fed up and had Best Buy replace the device. It's been a week now and no sd or freezing issues. Fingers crossed.

    UPDATE I started having sd issues again and bought a new class 4 sd card and formatted it on my computer before putting out in my phone. So far no issues.
     
  11. jtcady

    jtcady Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    10
    Well I returned my optimus and got another one. All was well and then it finally did it, so i formatted the card from the phone and so far so good.

    EDIT: I spoke too soon. It has been doing it again and it has to be the SD card. It could just be a bad batch cause i hardly doubt its the phone.
     
  12. Btandjkeb

    Btandjkeb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem but when I switched to a new sd card it hasn't done it since. Now I just need to know how to delete email from the trash folder all at once. I just deleted 512 emails one by one otherwise the phone force quits.
     
  13. ruriimasu

    ruriimasu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    2
    did your new sd card solve the issue? the same problem is annoying me, sometimes preparing sd card.. that is still fine with me but when sd card is detected as removed that annoyed me.
     
  14. EBXXXMAXX

    EBXXXMAXX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it will over on the sprint forums. LG has reported that the samsung sd card that sprint put in it is not compatable. you just need to change it out with one that is. I used a san disk one and no more problems.
     
  15. Jessicalt1

    Jessicalt1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    3
    I came over from the hero and took my 4Gb Sandisk card out of that phone and put it into my phone. Never used the SD card that came with it and it removes itself all the time. So it's not the SD card. It worked perfectly in my Hero.
     
  16. Ma}{imus

    Ma}{imus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    38

    I think it does have something to do with the interface between the phone and the sd card. If you use a freshly formatted class 4 or higher card that should do the trick.
     
  17. reddjeep88

    reddjeep88 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    My wifes phone was doing the unmount thing. I formatted an old 2 gb SanDisc card from another phone and she hasn't had a problem since! They never will, but I think that Sprint should offer up a free replacement card to Optimus users.
     

Share This Page

Loading...