SD cardGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. rgrant

    rgrant Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anybody know why, all of a sudden, my phone says my SD card is damaged and it's asking me to reformat it? I guess I'll lose all my stored memory if i reformat. Please help!
     

    Advertisement
  2. mhseris

    mhseris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    2
    I can't tell you why - but I can tell you this seems to be fairly common.
    Mine did the same thing, at least three times. (And I posted about it, and got other people saying gee, that happened to me too, but no answers...) The first two times I reformatted (and the first time, lost photos b/c didn't think hard enough to realize that they were stored on the SD card). The third time I bought a new SD card, and haven't had any trouble since. So that would be my recommendation. (I took it as an opportunity to upgrade to a class 6 SD card.) Good luck!
     
  3. rgrant

    rgrant Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info buddy. Can I transfer the stored pictures from old card to new or are they just gone now?
     
  4. textstev

    textstev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    2
    Every once in awhile when I take it out, it used to happen in the beginning, I have gotten a 6 Card though thinking it would improve speed (but it doesn't - only file transfer speed), so maybe that helps.

    When I did get this message though all I had to do was blow at it and reinsert it. I never had to reformat the old. (The old one now I leave in my laptop and use to copy movies around hehe.)
     
  5. mhseris

    mhseris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    2
    Second time around I hooked the Eris up to the computer, made a folder on the desktop that said "Eris Backup" and copied everything from the SD card to that folder. Then reformatted the card, then copied everything back (but kept a copy on the desktop). Did the same thing when I got the new card. No problems. :D
     
  6. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    If you have, or can get, a card reader for you computer there's a chance that you can still save the pictures. It's possible that the computer will be able to read the card even though the phone can't.

    As mentioned above, I too have a folder on my computer cleverly named 'phone backup' where I back up all the data from my phone (sb card) to my computer every now and then. Once you get your phone back up and running this would probably be a good idea for you too, that way you're less likely to lose important data/pictures. How often you back up is up to you, basically it depends on how much information you're willing to lose. *I* back up any time I take a bunch of pictures, or add a bunch of music or ebooks to my phone. Which probably works out to once a month or so.
     
  7. natbet

    natbet Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    It is possible that you didn't unmount the card properly from the computer so the phone thinks it is corrupted. You can try mounting it on a computer again and then unmounting it properly (safely remove device on windows.) This might fix it, I had this problem often with my old BB Curve.
     
  8. rgrant

    rgrant Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all your help, guys!!
     
  9. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    Blow it? you mean old NES cartridge style? LOL
     
  10. its4emilybrent

    its4emilybrent New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, im pretty sure that im just stupid and i know this is a dumb question, but how do yoy put your pictures on your sd card? I thought they saved automatically, but when i went in quick office it said i had no files saved....help?
     
  11. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    Quick office is for viewing office documents. If you have taken pictures with the phone they should be in the photo album.
     
  12. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    Pictures taken using the phone are stored on the sdcard in DCIM/100MEDIA. To see the files in the card you'd need to either mount it to your computer or to use a file manager like Astro.
    Naturally you can view the pictures on the phone using the built in app.
     
  13. bcltoys

    bcltoys Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    47
    This is a little off topic but do sdhc cards work with the eris I just happen to have one.
     

Share This Page

Loading...