SD troubles, or just a setting?


Last Updated:

  1. Psychokitty

    Psychokitty Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    64
    UD Froyo Extreme 7.0
    P3Droid 125 - 1250 MHz kernel
    32 GB SD card
    Nearly 200 apps

    So these are the type of things that are happening:

    Ultra long boot times. In excess of four minutes, but not consistently.
    An occasional boot loop.
    Sometimes upon boot up, the date reads 1969. It takes a few seconds to read the correct time.
    Often, but not always, the phone's system is busy "Preparing sd card" and checking it for errors.
    When I try to use ROM Manager to restore to a previous ROM, it reboots into ClockworkMod Recovery and flips through a list of errors stating that it can't find the file, can't mount the card, etc. Takes about 3 seconds and then I'm in the main Clockwork menu again.
    Often when I try to install an update.zip, ClockworkMod shuts down and reboots before I can even select it.

    Any suggestions regarding the SD card?
     

    Advertisement
  2. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    a few people have reported that taking the SDCard, backing it up, then formatting it thoroughly helps.

    I"ll report this - I had some flake issues with mine a while back. I backed mine up, then formatted it in my computer's AIO card reader (has a slot for 'T-Flash - aka micro SDCard) - it took 3 tries before I finally got a good format (first one failed at like 78%, second one got caught in a locked process and never completed, but generated no errors) - but I have had no issues with the SDCard since.
     
    Psychokitty likes this.
  3. Psychokitty

    Psychokitty Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    64
    So, simply copy the SD, format, paste, and I'm good (maybe)?

    Thanks!
     
  4. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Yup - I'd highly advise that you use a card reader to do this as opposed to using the USB cable and the DROID, use that only if it is your last option b/c a full format (as opposed to a Quick Format) takes oodles of time....

    Come to think of it I am not even sure if you *can* format the SDCard from the computer while it is in the DROID - but you can format it from the DROID itself....
     
  5. Psychokitty

    Psychokitty Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    64
    No, I can just stuff it in my laptop.
     
  6. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Perfect - away you go.
     
  7. sohc sti

    sohc sti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    3
    Just curious, where did you get your 32gig card?
     
  8. Psychokitty

    Psychokitty Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    64
    A few months ago they hit Very$on, and I got one for like 80 bucks. It's a Sandisk, too. There was a huge thread on it.

    Pretty damned amazing; 32 GB in the size of my fingernail.
     
  9. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    I'm betting you probably just slipped it in and went away with it right?

    You'll be happier once it has been fully formatted.

    My 16 GB runs flawlessly now - even with SD Share widget sharing it between the phone and my PC via USB *and* with Apps2SD enabled.
     
  10. Psychokitty

    Psychokitty Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    64
    I ran a check on it before spewing the contents of my old card onto it, but yeah, I should have formatted it. I guess I just figured the employees at the Verizon store aren't formatting the cards... Besides, the excitement got the better of me. :D
     
  11. muab

    muab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    42
    I just got a 32GB card from verizon too... I think it was $104 delivered.
    (and this after getting a fake one from an Amazon seller first...sheesh)

    Now after reading this thread I am think I will endeavor to format it on my laptop first. I have never done that before.

    PscychoKitty, you ran BB 0.4 for a while right? I would be very interested in hearing your comparison between UD7 and BB at some point. UD7 was in my top 3 ROMs I had contemplated running....

    Anyway, back on thread....32 gb cards...yeah...woot. Format 'em.

    Go.
     
  12. Psychokitty

    Psychokitty Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    64
    I never ran BB 0.4. I ran a BB pre Froyo for a while, but not for long, and I knew a whole lot less about what I was doing. I've been running pretty much exclusively UD ROMs for a few months now.
     
  13. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    515
    You can -- I've done it a number of times now (as maintenance, and to kill 2 birds with one stone, as SD card backup, I periodically copy all the contents of my SD card to my PC, format my SD card, and copy the contents back to my SD). I've found that my Droid seems to run snappier after each time I do this, and it's nice to have the peace of mind of having all of my SD card content backed up, as well. I used Windows to remove the SD card partition I put on the card at one point, as well.
     

Share This Page

Loading...