SDcard Unexpectedly RemovedSupport


Last Updated:

  1. feigndeaf

    feigndeaf Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just received my Optimus S yesterday from Sprint and currently have the 2GB SD card from sprint in it.

    I had no problems with it yesterday and now all of a sudden today I keep getting messages saying that my SD Card has Unexpectedly Been Removed then it says something about removing it and then it says preparing....

    I know this has been an issue with other phones (I did some research before posting) but couldn't find anything specific to the Optimus. Is this something that others are experiencing? Should I take it back to Sprint?

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Matt_H

    Matt_H Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    This issue has been discussed on the AC forums:
    Freezing / Lock-ups and SD card issues? - Android Forums

    From what I gathered, it's either an issue with a batch of SD cards that shipped with the phones (in which case user a different SD card) or it's an issue with the formatting of the SD card as shipped (in which case, reformat the existing SD card).
     
  3. feigndeaf

    feigndeaf Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thank you. I had read a bit on it, but I wasn't sure from what I read if it was only related to certain phones or the OS or exactly what.

    ETA:
    I have the Samsung card in it. I have a different brand at home, I will try that one. Thank you for pointing me in the right direction. Nothing else I had read on the web had pinpointed it that specifically and I don't think I had read that thread in full.
     
  4. cmags

    cmags New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good to know, it comes with a 2GB card right? I'll just use one that I have instead, and relegate the one that it ships with to mp3player duty.
     
  5. jen8112

    jen8112 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    34
    If you reformat the card as soon as you get the phone you should be good to go too.
     
  6. feigndeaf

    feigndeaf Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    I switched out the card it came with to my Sandisk and I haven't had a problem since.
     
  7. vicshalls

    vicshalls Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    25
    Have put in diffrent cards and reformated them all and it still unmounts. Any ideas yall?
     
  8. Rhanebeaux

    Rhanebeaux New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am now on my 3rd Optimus S that has this issue. Oddly, for as many people on the internet complaining about it, no one at the Sprint store seems to know anything about this issue. In fact they state "You are the only one having any issues," which I find hard to believe. (Is it all that unreasonable to ask that the phone you bought work correctly?) I have 8 days left on my 30 days, and I am seriously considering returning the thing. I really like the phone, but it does not have much memory (512 mb I think?) with out an SD card. Can anyone on here state that they have had NO issues after reformatting/replacing? for a week at least? I really hate to exchange the phone AGAIN, for a 4th time. Not to mention the last time I exchanged it, they tried to tell me that the Anti Virus I downloaded on is was causing the issues....so I can already hear them telling me this is something I did and not the phone itself.
     
  9. wilberfan1

    wilberfan1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    6
    This just happened to me with an Optimus M and a non-factory Sandisk 16GB. Had the phone since late December... I was in the middle of a phone call. Hmmm...
     
  10. Ma}{imus

    Ma}{imus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    38
    Here's a fix that should resolve the sd issue in nearly all instances.

    1) Get a new sd card minimum class 4
    2) Before putting the card in your phone format it (UNCHECK quick format) from your computer.
    3) Copy your files from your old sd card onto the new one and throw that stock POS away.
     
  11. Ma}{imus

    Ma}{imus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    38
    Make sure you reformat on your PC and not your phone. Uncheck the quick format option and let it do its thing.
     
  12. wilberfan1

    wilberfan1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    6
    I did steps 1 & 3 within days of getting the phone. Not absolutely positive if I did step 2. If I get the error again, step 2 it is!
     
  13. Ma}{imus

    Ma}{imus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    38
    Here is the best thread I've found on resolving the SD card issues with the Optimus S. Check it out and I suggest following the step by step process in the OP. That resolved this for me.

    Good luck.
     
  14. jvc1263

    jvc1263 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've changed display setting to shut down screen in 30 minutes,and i think this work.It look like there is bug in sleep mode/battery saving during the call.
     

Share This Page

Loading...