search contactsSupport


Last Updated:

  1. ispytodd

    ispytodd New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all..

    Am I on crack? I can't figure out how to search from within the contacts app. There is no search option in the menu. All I can do is scroolll through every contact.

    yes I know there are workarounds:
    -search from the search widget
    -start typing a name on the physical keyboard.. but I dont want to pop out the keyboard every time i want to make a call.
    -double finger drag seems to scroll super fast
     

    Advertisement
  2. smakmauz

    smakmauz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    well I can't speak to weather you're on crack or not but..... ;)

    Your right though you can't search from the contacts app without the physical keyboard.

    What you can do though that is just as easy is to just use the dialer and you can start typing letters or numbers and it will start popping up contacts just like you used to search your phonebook on the old style phones before android. I was happy they brought that feature back because I missed it on my behold 2.
     
  3. bugger

    bugger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    2
    I was having the same issue, I couldn't for the life of me figure out how to seach a contact. I wish they would fix it. Sometimes i need an email address or some other type of info from the contact. It would be great if they had a seach button.
     
  4. chadmd23

    chadmd23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    57
    Check out Google's Gesture Search from the market (its free). When you open it, you simply draw each letter for your search and entries appear. You can select which data is used, apps, cal, etc.

    I just installed it for my father (after watching him scroll forever on his Droid), he called it life changing!
     
  5. macavely

    macavely Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    13
    The Genius button...
     
  6. chadmd23

    chadmd23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    57
    It takes forever to load up for me. Its definitely not like in the commercial. Does yours start right up and listen?
     
  7. macavely

    macavely Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    13
    it starts right up for me..
     
  8. Cramill

    Cramill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    19
    The Genius button takes a little while to load for me too. Maybe because I have Facebook Synced up with my phone - so I have a lot of contacts because of that...
     
  9. ispytodd

    ispytodd New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can search contacts, all you have to do is click the search button.. oh wait, there is no search button on the face of the phone, it has been replaced by the godforsaken genius button.

    my genius experience: click, wait, 'tom', twitter, 'what? no !@#!#$@# I jsut want to make a phone call'.

    me thinks the marketing department got their hands involved in the development of this phone..

    so I guess the question is.. Can I reassign the genius button to search?

    other than the whole making phone calls thing, this phone is pretty cool :(
     
  10. macavely

    macavely Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    13
    I have all my social networks linked to my contacts... They Genius button did load up slow the first few times I used it.. But once I linked all the contacts it works smooth and fast...
     

Share This Page

Loading...