searching in a predefined TinyDB in App inventor

1. PhaGeek

PhaGeek New Member

Hi!

I am quite new to App Inventor and need some hints on how to design an app which searches in a tinyDB which is pre-made (there is no "saving to"-functionality).

The app basically contains a text field in which the user enters a keyword and then presses a search button. The app then searches through a database to check if the entered keyword matches any contained in the database. If it does, the app then retrieves and displays up to five fields of information connected to the keyword in the database. The database and its contents I will create before hand, as stated above.

- How do I structure the blocks to make the search functionality?
    - How do I structure the blocks to display on the screen five fields contained under the keyword in the database?
    - and how do I create the tinyDB that is to be connected to this App?

Advertisement
  2. glitz521

glitz521 New Member

looking to have a similar working app only with mine, Id like to use a list picker to to narrow down a list of venues (rows) to match search criteria that are defined by various attributes (Column). The list result would be the venues that match the search criteria. Then, each Venue would have its own page that displays all attributes for that venue.

EX: Venues: place 1, place 2, place 3, ect
    Attributes: City, Restaurant (yes/no), Open late (yes/no), ect

User searches for a place that is a restaurnat that is not open late-- And gets a list of all venues that match up to that query.

My db is also genereated and dont need option for a user to "enter" info. If you ever ot this working, I would be curious to how its done using which layout and code blocks.

THANKS!
    CHRIS
  3. Unforgiven

Unforgiven ~Play Nice~ Moderator

I've moved this to our App Inventor forum so you can get the help you need.:)
    glitz521 likes this.
  4. Mathias198623

Mathias198623 New Member

Hi guys,