Secret Codes, 3g Lock, Built Day & time, firmware, GPS test, and more!Tips


Last Updated:

  1. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    Here are some secret codes that I found from various sites. Use all with caution, some codes can really mess up your phone, maybe even brick it. Don’t ever click something you don’t know. The 3g lock code instructions, I figured that one out on my own, so use with caution, because I don’t know how accurate it is, seems to work fine on my phone though, but use all these codes at your own risk. I’m not responsible for any damage done to your phone, you assume full responsibility, I am not held liable for any damage. By continuing beyond this point you assume full responsibility and release me from any liability. Sorry I just don't want people screaming at me saying I ruined thier phone. I'm not a phone expert by any means, so use at your own risk.

    Edit: Looks like this might be the software built date some people are saying.
    Go to your phones dial pad, and dial this in:
    *#*#44336#*#*


    Want your IMEI number? Dial in *#06#

    Want cool phone stats, detailed battery information including temp, battery health, and usage stats? Dial in *#*#4636#*#*

    Tired of pressing the power button to turn off your phone, but a stupid menu pops up asking you if you wanna shut down or put into flight mode, silent or shut off. Well if you want to set the power button to shut your phone off the first time dial in: *#*#7594#*#* then follow on screen instructions.

    Do a Factory data restore to factory default settings, dial in:
    *#*#7780#*#* Follow the onscreen instructions. You should probably make sure you have full battery or that the phone is plugged into power before doing this, and if it freezes, I don’t think it’s a good idea to ever do battery pulls during a restore, you may brick the phone. Also the phone will reboot on its own, and may take a long time to start back up, may get locked onto that galaxy “s” screen..give it some time, don’t pull your battery out. Again do at your own risk.

    You can also do a factory format, this appears to be a true hard reset, while the method above is more of a soft reset. Once you enter the following factory format code there is no going back, it starts the format process and puts the phone in like new condition.
    *2767*3855#


    Want to do a GPS test, why download a 3rd party app from android market, your phone has a GPS test built in! Dial in:
    *#*#1472365#*#* or you can also try *#*#1575#*#*

    Touchscreen version, dial in: *#*#2663#*#* caution, I don’t know what the update options do, so don’t use them, it may totally think you want to update the screens version or something, and brick the phone. Don’t try.

    For firmware versions and other info:
    *#*#2222#*#*
    #*#*1111#*#*
    *#*#1234#*#*
    For PDA, Phone, H/W Rev, RFCalldate(I don’t know what this means but it matches the ship date on my box) and CSC….. dial in :
    *#*#4986*2650468#*#*

    Tired of edge speeds, want to lock in 3g? Okay this next one, do at your own risk ask usual, use with caution. I kinda figured this one out on my own, through trial and error, so I’m not sure how stable or accurate, or even how safe it is to do this. I did notice though, if you screw up, you can use the factory reset code above and things should go back to factory defaults.
    Okay…so again do at your own risk. Also by locking into 3g speeds, if you ever go into a non 3g area, or if your 3g signal is poor in your area, then your phone calls will drop and data will stop, unless you go back and set the phone to its default automatic gsm/cdma settings.
    Dial: *#*#197328640#*#*
    Click [1] debug screen
    Click [8] phone control
    Click [7] network control
    Click [2] band selection
    This is where you make a change, default setting is [1] automatic, which means it chooses automatically between gsm/cdma (Edge vs 3g). So we are going to change this and set it to wcdma band which is 3g.
    Click [2] wcdma band
    Click [1] wcdma all []
    Now it should display “select wcdma all bands
    [*]"

    Now on the bottom of your phone, click the menu key, it’s the one next to the home key, now click back, menu again one more time, back one more time, this is just to confirm it set to number 2 wcdma band.
    Now click menu key one last time, click end.. and you are done. Now to double verify that the phone is locked into 3g, dial in: *#*#4636#*#*
    Then click phone information Then scroll down to “set preferred network type” It should now have listed “wcdma only.” PS, if you tried to do a shortcut, and just set wcdma this way first without doing the lock above, it would just go back to gsm/cdma auto once you exit the screen.
    Your phone should now be locked into 3g.


    Earpiece volume to low? I'm talking about the earpiece speaker built into the phone, the part you hold to your ear. You can increase this volume beyond maximum factory setting. When you change this, please change it slowly, meaning 1 increment at a time, you don't want to blow your speakers out. Thank you to the user over at xda-developer forums who showed me how to do this. update: it seems if you do a reboot of your phone, the settings revert back to factory for this volume fix...working to try to figure out a way to lock in the new volume settings.


    Okay, lets begin. Go to your dial pad. Dial in *#*#197328640#*#*
    Next, tap your finger onto the following, in the following order:
    [5] Audio
    [1] Handset
    [1] Volume
    [1] SRS Speech RX Volume

    next notice the following defaults that pop up.
    [0]0_lvl:63
    [1]1_lvl:68
    [2]2_lvl:73
    [3]3_lvl:78
    [4]4_lvl:83
    [5]5_lvl:88

    This basically means, that your volume up and down keys have 5 clicks, starting from the lowest setting, and click your volume up 5 times, takes you through the sequence of volumes listed above. You can change each click to be a new volume setting. For me 1-4 are fine, I just wanted max volume, which is click number 5, to be something higher. The phone does not let you to put in half increments, meaning 88.5 is not possible. So you have to use increments of 1. Please please do this carefully, dont suddenly jump to 95, you could blow out your speaker possibly. So I tried just 1 increment above 88, went to 89, and perfect, much louder now! okay so this is how you do it:

    Once you get the list above, do the following:
    Click your finger on [5]5_lvl:88
    Next, a screen pops up asking for input. On the bottom of your phone, tap the menu button, this is the button next to the little home button.
    Next tap "key input"
    Next tap 1 increment at a time, lets start off with 89 so where it says enter value, tap this, your keyboard pops up, type in 89
    Next Tap your menu button again
    Next Tap "end"
    you are now finished, make a phone call and see how 89 works for you, when your volume is set to max
    Remember this volume adjustment seems to reset after you reboot the phone. Some people online are saying you can also make the volume higher by playing with the hearing aid settings, I personally haven't tried this yet.
     

    Advertisement
  2. galaxyS

    galaxyS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    3
    good find..

    min was also built in june 22..

    didn't try the rest, umm didn't have to.. LOL
     
  3. FoDiddle

    FoDiddle Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    First post.

    Good stuff here thx, but i have a request.

    Any codes to turn up the phones "in call" volume while wearing ear buds?

    Thx.
     
  4. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165

    LOL oh my god I been searching for something similar to that for the past hour now. I'm looking for a code to reset the max volume for the phones built in earpiece speaker, ear buds, and I want to be able to set the max brightness to something else. I know it has to exist!

    please post your build date and time, thank you!
     
  5. galaxyS

    galaxyS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    3
    i think you need to get better ear buds instead.. imo..
     
  6. FoDiddle

    FoDiddle Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I own three different pair of ear buds/headphones and they are quality, unlike the ones that shipped with the phone, they're garbage.

    The fact is, the phone's volume through its firmware or hardware is simply too low.

    I've never been a samsung fan cause they always seem to screw up the little things. Anyhoo, it's my wish that we can get some volume out of this smartphone.
     
  7. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    Fodiddle what date was your vibrant born?
     
  8. yummytyson

    yummytyson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3
    My build date is similar to yours, we have the same batch. I'll check out the other stuff later when I am home
     
  9. WxAxGxS

    WxAxGxS Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    Isn't that OS build date, not phone build date? I've yet to see anyone with any other time.... This would also be in line with the fact that all the other info is software/firmware related.
     
  10. truoc444

    truoc444 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    That has to be the OS build date. Mine shows the exact same time as yours:

    Date is 06/22/2010, 22:34:50 Korea Standard Time.
     
  11. yummytyson

    yummytyson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3
    Or maybe we all coincidently have the same batch of phones :p
     
  12. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    That sucks I really thought it was the phones manufactoring date. So maybe the date on the box is the real manufacturing date.

    So I don't understand something, Samsung didn't compile our os until less than a month before our phones release?
     
  13. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    Okay a different topic, when I type *#*#4636#*#* and check the battery stats, my battery level is only at 40, while the phones battery status bar in the indicator bar shows like 80 percent fulll.

    Seems to be a mismatch.
     
  14. WxAxGxS

    WxAxGxS Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3

    Final compilation? Probably not. I'm actually surprised it was so late (unless of course production phones hit the line starting the next day).
     
  15. HtcEvoLemon

    HtcEvoLemon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    11
    Do these codes work on all android phones?
     
  16. yummytyson

    yummytyson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3

    Yes, I believe its a bug with all phones and will probably be fixed with an update.
     
  17. aci78

    aci78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    6
    My 3rd party app battery meter and my phones are way different, as well.
     
  18. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    Does your phone take hours to charge? Mine feels like it takes hours to charge to full charge, every other smart phone i've had takes maybe 2 hrs for a full charge.
     
  19. yummytyson

    yummytyson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3

    Yes it does and I'm not completely sure it is something that is fixable.
     
  20. rbcamping

    rbcamping Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    8
    The reason why this phone takes so long to charge is because it has dynamic charging built in. As the battery heats up or the phone get hot from being someplace warm, the rate of charge is lowered to protect the battery from over heating. It also gives the battery a higher charge capacity. The battery should last a lot longer then most of the other phones. I realized this when I saw the battery temperature on the apps. with this phone, and noticed that the phone charged very quickly when its cold and very slowly when its hot. You can test this out yourself by putting the phone in your refrigerator to get it cold and then putting the charger.
     
  21. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    i wouldn't suggest people do that. Condensation can build up in the phone if you put it in the fridge and fry your phone, also the water marker stickers are sensitive and might turn pink.
     
  22. happy0506

    happy0506 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    27
    my vibrant was built on 7.13.10 according to samsung when i registered it on their support site. it tells you when it was built when you enter your phone's serial number on the registration screen.
     
  23. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    By any chance does this date of yours 7.13.10, match the date on the box? What about the date when you type in the code I have listed way up above, what date does your phone say when you use that?
    Are you having GPS issues?
     
  24. FoDiddle

    FoDiddle Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Absolutely great work SamsungVibrant.

    Could you please work a solution on the headset volume? I never just use the phones speaker, i use ear buds mostly cause i drive truck and the call volume is too low.

    Anything you can find would be mucho appreciated! thx.
     
  25. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    hey quick update, it appears that once you do a reboot of your phone, the volume levels go back to factory, i'm trying to figure out a resolution to have this new setting stick, so that it doesn't revert back to factory settings after reboot.

    by the way, if you notice, you can change your plugged in headphone volumes too! dont try it yet though, let me get the correct instructions for you first, so you dont mess up your phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...