sending rooted phone to Assurion

1. opeets

opeets Well-Known Member

I have a rooted Galaxy Nexus that I'm considering sending to Assurion for replacement due to a cracked screen.

Couple things I need to know.

First off...I rooted it a few months ago (I'm no expert at these things...I just followed directions on this site). I didn't install a custom ROM, I just basically wanted to root it so I could customize my desktop and what not.

Secondly....there was a point where Verizon wanted to push JB onto it but I didn't want it to mess things up for me so I found a way (with help from this site) to prevent the update.

Those two things being said....what do I need to do to prepare this phone for returning it to Assurion? I want it to be completely wiped clean and back to all factory settings.

Advertisement
  2. breadnatty08

breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member

Just curious, why are you sending it back?
    The Gnex is super easy to unroot and re-lock the bootloader so it can't hurt. You can find the directions here:
    http://androidforums.com/verizon-ga...ot-restore-more-vzw-samsung-galaxy-nexus.html
    As far as whether it matters? If you have a cracked screen and looking for a replacement, root doesn't matter with Asurion. If you're looking to send it back to Verizon for a warranty replacement, then it definitely could.
    ocnbrze and Rxpert83 like this.
  3. opeets

opeets Well-Known Member

Thanks for the links. Will these instructions also wipe clean any personal files (by that I mean writing 0s to memory)?

I dropped it last week and have a nasty crack on the screen that seems to be getting larger every day.
  4. breadnatty08

breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member

Hmm, relocking, I'm not entirely sure if it will wipe. If you can use the screen just fine, you can always backup an entire Nandroid to your PC and any pertinent data. That way, when you receive your new Nexus (which hopefully you do!), you can restore that nandroid once it's rooted again.