Sense less without root.


Last Updated:

  1. ajanu

    ajanu Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    I think I just found a bug. I downloaded Lockbot and installed it using unrooted stock 1.5 (on Telus). I found it to be irritating, and unprdictable, so I uninstalled it. Now when I hit home, I get the option to use home or sense. Is this supposed to be possible? Most people keep talking about LauncherPro, but I assumed it ran over top of Sense. Would using the stock home be faster than the Sense?

    Sorry if this is a dumb question.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Not a dumb question at all.

    That's perfectly normal. You can use any home application you like, HTC Sense is only one option. It's just that your hero comes with HTC Sense set as the default, which is why you never saw Home.

    Launcher Pro is a 3rd party home app that's probably the most popular alternative to HTC Sense. You can install it via the market to try it if you want to. It's much better than the home app.

    When you're using one of these other homescreen apps Sense will soon be closed by android to free up RAM. I don't think you'll notice any speed increase, but you shouldn't see any decrease either.
     
  3. daveybaby

    daveybaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    105
    Note that i dont think you can use launcherpro with 1.5.
     
    ajanu likes this.
  4. nedamdam

    nedamdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    27
    Ajanu just install home switcher and try the original home how it will feel. With the home switcher app you can easily switch back to the sense. daveybaby is right, no launcherpro on 1.5 :( .

    Btw as I had the 1.5 Sense felt faster as the stock. (On 2.1 everything else seems well is faster as sense)
     
    ajanu likes this.
  5. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Or, go to Settings >> Manage Applications >> HTC Sense and click 'Clear Defaults' if you don't want to install another app to switch home apps.
     
    ajanu likes this.
  6. ajanu

    ajanu Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks guys. I'll figure this out eventually.
     

Share This Page

Loading...