Sense UI on Nexus One


Last Updated:

  1. rubi76

    rubi76 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    22

    Advertisement
  2. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    go ahead and let us know how it goes! :D

    Word of caution - I installed HTC keyboard that is posted in another thread in this forum, and personally didn't like it. But after uninstalling, things got wonky with my Nexus. Minor, but still some issues. ATK - the fonts got all small. BatteryLife - the coloured separation bars got all messed up.

    I did a hard reset to fix. Luckily, I have online backup setup with my Gmail account. I personally won't be installing anything HTC anymore.

    Just FYI - not to tell people to not do it, but I had weird things happen from just installing the HTC keyboard. Although minor, I can only imagine what kind of headaches I'd get with installing Sense. No thanks. No until my Nexus becomes a backup phone. ;)
     
  3. NexusMMM

    NexusMMM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rooting is definitely for the more adventurous folks but so long as you don't brick your phone in the process (highly unlikely if you follow the instructions carefully) you can go back to the stock rom at any time.
     
  4. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    well the ironic thing is that this HTC keyboard pack was installed without the need for rooting. I can only imagine the head scratching (and head banging!) I'd have with rooting and more. :D

    until my Nexus becomes a 'backup' phone, I'll leave it as is, and mod it via official apps, widgets and updates. ;)

    As my main phone (and only phone - I have no landline, and don't even have home internet) - it's too crucial to mess up for me.
     
  5. Bob Loblaw1

    Bob Loblaw1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    24
    How do you do that?
     
  6. SnotF

    SnotF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    12
    I for one won't be putting this version of the rom on my phone. for one, it comes with a HUGE warning sign saying its not. ready for install yet and could brick your phone. for two(and three) Paul hasn't gotten the Mic or the radio working correctly yet. ill waittill it appears. with a full kitchen. my advice is that anyone wanting the sense UI do the same.
     
  7. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    when you first boot up your Nexus, during the initial setup process, there is a checkbox on the 2nd or 3rd setup screen, that asks if you want to have your nexus backed up online... it's on by default... I left it on... I'm sure many may have unchecked this out or paranoia... I dunno... I'm just I had it enabled - it's SO convenient and a godsend of a feature... avoids HOURS of reinstalling stuff... something that always irritated me with the iphone... (it had to be plugged in, and even then, your apps got all bungled up because of the way iphone tiles stuff automatically)... This is all OTA... that's the beauty of it... You don't have to be near a computer... so if you're away from home, or worse, on a trip... you can still restore your stuff. :D
     
  8. cabinets

    cabinets Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    10
    It is a wonderful feature. I have had to use it a couple of times and it saves alot of headaches.
     
  9. dime079

    dime079 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0

    how do you (or can you) turn this on if you opted to turn it off when first setting the phone up?
     
  10. jfbaro

    jfbaro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to use the MUSIC PLAYER which comes with SENSE UI as the default music player on N1 is too simple.

    Cheers
     
  11. bitxboi

    bitxboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    6
    I think it's:

    Menu -> Privacy Settings -> "Back up my settings" (Checkbox)
     
  12. MartinS

    MartinS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    197
    Are you going to post this in every thread? Sorry man but it's just a bit spammy.

    Secondly you shouldn't say that you will never install anything by HTC again, when the one thing you have tried isn't strictly meant for your device. Personally I think they write good software for where it's meant to be used - Sense and HTC battery widget for Hero etc etc...
     
  13. rubi76

    rubi76 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    22

    Funny - mine was already checked.... good to know.
    But what are they backing up? Is it the downloaded applications or the settings?
    And also - in case I lose everything - how do I restore?
     
  14. bitxboi

    bitxboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    6
    These are good questions. I don't know really, but I guess it's the settings, while the downloaded apps are stored on your google account, so you can download them again

    EDIT: I mean...the data about your downloaded apps, not the apps
     
  15. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    Just making sure the Nexus peeps are aware ;)

    I didn't say the HTC software wasn't any good - but I personally won't be putting it on my Nexus. If I had a Desire, or Hero, or the like - devices designed to have HTC software on them from the onset - I'd surely use and like them.

    My comments are in the context of the Nexus One only - sorry if they were perceived as being general statements.
     
  16. MartinS

    MartinS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    197
    Fair enough. I think it's just chance that the 3 threads I opened first, I saw that post! Didn't mean to be harsh.
     
  17. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    no offense taken :D

    I figured there was a way - that is great to know! :D

    would suck if you're only chance was upon very first bootup and initial setup...

    it's a wonderful feature... there's a couple things that it would save, such as your non gmail email accounts, and apps will require re-accepting the license agreement. But overall, it saves a LOT of time when having to hard-reset, or even getting a replacement handset.
     
  18. MartinS

    MartinS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    197
  19. adamlovesu

    adamlovesu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    1
    i wanted to try this but i heard that its not complete like the camera and the live wallpapers and such is this true?
     
  20. MartinS

    MartinS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    197
    I read it doesn't record at 720p. Not sure of the other details. Remember it's still in development and will only get better.
     
  21. mudrock1000

    mudrock1000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    13
    Well is there a way to dual boot the rom? I think people would try that if you could do it.
     
  22. SnotF

    SnotF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    12
    why dual boot the rom? why not just try it out for a few days and then cook a new one in a few days? its not like it's hard to flash it...
     
  23. mudrock1000

    mudrock1000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    13
    Some people don't want to erase all their data and things like that. Granted there is nandroid backups, but honestly i think dual booting would be easiier...just me though.
     
  24. grainysand

    grainysand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    175
    I've been dicking around with it. Not a huge fan of Sense (hate that big bottom tab), but I must say that the ROM is amazing especially for something that's supposed to be unfinished. A lot of HTC's apps are a big improvement upon the stock ones--music and youtube apps in particular. Color me stunned.
     
  25. rubi76

    rubi76 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    22

Share This Page

Loading...