SenseHERO 2.1 Build 3


Last Updated:

  1. MF1

    MF1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is anyone using this yet? I am a noobie and done my first custom rom last week to the sense 2.2 version. Generally I'm happy, a little bit slow but nothing major.

    I was wondering what the new update includes? Bug fixes, speed issues etc?

    Also if I did install it, do I need to go through the whole process of installing apps and mail etc? Or can I upgrade it and it will remember my settings etc?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Do a Nand + Ext backup, flash the ROM and it will almost definitely will work just fine.

    But you have the backup just in case :)
     
    MF1 likes this.
  3. MF1

    MF1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    Cheers Xtiro, you're right! I found some further info on http://www.htcdevscene.info I know what I will be doing tomorrow :) I also see Stickman is from my home town too!
     
  4. X-Adz-X

    X-Adz-X Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Am just flashing now, will let you know how it is!
     
  5. X-Adz-X

    X-Adz-X Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Instilation failed - E: Failure at line 391:
    copy_dr PACKAGE:data DATA:

    Instillation Failed
     
  6. rustynuts

    rustynuts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    A few of us had this problem last night ended up doing a full wipe working fine now
     
  7. X-Adz-X

    X-Adz-X Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, seems that's what you need to do.

    I'm giving Sense Expresso a go, how is HERO build 3? Anything you notice over other releases?
     
  8. rustynuts

    rustynuts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    No noticeable changes but seems to be rinning very nicely, i came from espresso as although it was pretty slick I found it very buggy and had quite a few problems
     
  9. m4rk

    m4rk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried it and shifted back to espresso this morning. for some obscure reason my contacts only sync'd my first contact. I also had the E: error on installation, wiped all and it sorted its life out. But cant really live without my contacts...I need to remember this is a phone after all!
     
  10. rustynuts

    rustynuts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats strange i had something like that before but it sorted itself after a few reboot
     
  11. X-Adz-X

    X-Adz-X Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only fault with Expresso is that I get no Internet (G, H, 2G, 3G) at all....
     
  12. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    244
    Did you try resetting your APN list?
     
  13. mrdagz

    mrdagz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    over all i like this but there are a few issues with this annoying issues which means i might go back to the stock rom.
    The Camera Quality is shockly bad,
    The Camera App Crashes a lot and the only way to fix it is to restart your phone after take a few pics.

    Picture messaging does not work

    and Mobile llocation services does not work.
     
  14. mez

    mez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    19
    im really liking this rom, ive also tried villian and espresso but this has the nice things that i like the look of and is less buggy.

    Camera is fine, and i havent tested it outdoors yet but its not got the green tint, ive had them set at 5mb and high, not wide screen.
     
  15. mrdagz

    mrdagz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tested the Camera out side and i still have a green tint to every thing and the image quality is not as good as with the Stock Rom, for me this is to high a price to pay so i have gone back to the Stock ROM for now.
    Hopfuly it will get Fixed and then i will take an other look because on the Whole it's a fantastic bit of kit.
     
  16. mez

    mez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    19

    ive only been ussing it indoors and havent been able to tell. the few photos that i have taken dnot seem too bad add. tho i have a decent camera that use for photos i dont actually take many at all on the phone.
     
  17. Dacheeta

    Dacheeta Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same issue with the green tint on outdoor pictures, I think I may have something to do with the white balance set to 'auto' I'm going to try setting it to outside and see if it corrects the problem.
    One more thing, could the camera be less than 5 mega pixels even if it is showing 5??
     
  18. mez

    mez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    19
    Over the last 2 days I've noticed the Rom freezing and i can't do anything at all I have to pull the battery as I can't even turn it off.


    I've noticed a couple of different times

    I get a sms, my phone vibrated and i pick it up to check but can't even turn the screen on

    OTher time I was on the net home page had just finished loading so i tapped on the page to start typing in google. Can't do anything as it had froze again. I don't remember if I received a sms that time but Google page was on the screen and it was awake.

    I really like this ROM and I've had it installed for 2ish week its only started causing problems for me just yesterday. I think its probably due to something I've installed but don't know what. Gone back to MCR 3.2 now but will put senseHero back on it later. Not a nand restore.


    Any one else had similar problems with this or other ROMs??
     
  19. tojjer

    tojjer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    8
    Only put it on last night. First thing I checked was the gps, so far so good on that. Other 2.1 roms I tried all played up with gps.
    Had to do the mmszap to get the picture messages working, but great problem that.

    So far, a very nice ROM and no problems found


    EDIT: Tiny bit of keyboard lag noticed, but as stikman sent out messages saying not to use the new OCKernel until he's had chance to sort it, I can live with that
     
  20. mez

    mez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    19
    ive just installed build 4. looks sweet and is working really well..

    :D:D:D
     
  21. tojjer

    tojjer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    8
    Gone back to Modaco3.2. tried build 4, got a purple screen after the reboots. Noticed a few things with build 3 that aren't quite right yet. Good ROM but the same as the others, not quite there yet.
     
  22. mez

    mez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    19

    ditto i got it ages after i installed tho. was working fine to start with. im going to see what advise i can get maybe reinstall b4 after formatting the sdcard. maybe do a couple of wipes.
     
  23. X-Adz-X

    X-Adz-X Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Build 4 seems amazing :)
     
  24. mgillespie

    mgillespie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    13
    Agreed.

    I spend hours messing with Villain 6.2 (I was on Villain 5.5), and it was a total waste of time. It initially failed to install, then it wouldn't boot until I disabled the simlock ans reflashed, after a couple of hours of messing with it, it eventually worked, but was slow as a dog, and locked up constantly when trying to restore apps using MyBackupPro.

    In the end, I installed Sense 2.1 B4 and it worked out the box, and seems very fast.

    It's only temporary anyway, as as soon as HTC releases 2.1 for Hero, i'm picking up a stock rom (but keeping the recovery image and root).
     
  25. midge37

    midge37 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm on villain 5.5 at the moment, and was going to flash to 6.2 but hearing too many problems. Is the Sense 2.1 better than villain 5.5 or much the same?
     

Share This Page

Loading...