Sensors not working on S4Support


Last Updated:

  1. isandroid4me

    isandroid4me Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have always been an iPhone user and just recently switched to Galaxy S4, so I'm relatively new to android. After 3 weeks of usage the sensors suddenly stopped working, so accelerometer is not functioning, neither are the light and proximity sensors and these are the most important ones for most of the features to work. I did some basic troubleshooting, checked the settings and even did factory reset a couple of times but no change. This led me to believe that its a hardware issue but I just noticed that accelerometer is working for the camera but not for any other app. So, now I'm not sure if there are some android tricks that I'm missing. Any suggestions?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Are you sure you have not turned screen rotation off? Download an app that allows testing sensors. Something like CPU-z even.
     
  3. isandroid4me

    isandroid4me Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm sure all the settings are fine. I have tried apps like Android Sensor Box, Hardware Tests etc. The sensors are recognized by these apps but they're just not working. Not even the light and proximity sensors. The only exception is rotation working for camera
     
  4. isandroid4me

    isandroid4me Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just tried CPU-Z as well. Once again, all sensors are recognized and listed but still not workin
     
  5. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Which means the problem is with software and not hardware. A simple hard reset should be a good start at troubleshooting.
     
  6. isandroid4me

    isandroid4me Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since I'm not very familiar with Android, how do I do a hard rest? How is it different from doing a factory reset?
     
  7. isandroid4me

    isandroid4me Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    What I have already tried is the factory reset under settings and "Wipe data/factory reset" option while booting (it came by keeping the volume key pressed while booting)
     
  8. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Factory reset is the same as hard reset.

    So after factory reset it is still not working?
     
  9. isandroid4me

    isandroid4me Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is correct. Sensors still wont work even after doing the factory reset twice.
     
  10. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    get it serviced or replaced.
     
  11. isandroid4me

    isandroid4me Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is under warranty so that would certainly be the best option for now
     
  12. bueno_n

    bueno_n New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I have a similar issue only in my case restarting the phone solves the issue.
    After restarting the phone everything will work but after several minutes the screen rotation, air gestures, proximity etc. will stop working.
    Once again, a simple restart solves it temporarily.
    Did anyone encounter this behavior?

    Thanks,
    Bueno
     
  13. bueno_n

    bueno_n New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Did anyone encounter the issue I mentioned above?
    It is driving me nuts!
    I have to restart the phone 4-5 times a day :(

    Thanks,
    Bueno
     
  14. ebenhe

    ebenhe Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try flash a rom.
     
  15. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,068
    Likes Received:
    15,647
    A factory reset is easier, safer and does the same job. If that doesn't work then, as suggested by several others previously, it's a hardware fault that should be dealt with by the warranty.
     
  16. bueno_n

    bueno_n New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I already tried both.
    Are you sure it's hardware?
    Seems like software since restart solves it.
    I voided my warranty due to the new eFuse thingy so I wanna resort to that solution after I've tried everything.

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...