Seriously stuck...in white screen and recovery!


Last Updated:

  1. Bezepae

    Bezepae Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Need some assistance please! Flashed a Fresh ROM, did a wipe cache and dalvik before flashing but now I'm stuck in the white htc evo 4g screen. Tried to reflash didn't work.

    I've pulled out the battery and powered on while holding volume down. This is what the screen reads:

    SUPERSONIC EVT2-3 SHIP S-OFF
    HBOOT-0.97.0000
    MICROP-041f
    TOUCH PANEL-ATMEL224_16ab
    RADIO-2.15.00.09.01
    Aug 19, 2010

    I can boot into ClockworkMod Recovery v2.5.0.1 but my backup and nandroid files can't be located. Sometimes I get the Android with the exclamation point, sometimes not.

    PCIMG36.zip image can't be found either.

    I think my phone is screwed! I've searched through the forums and googled and tried out a many things but to no avail. Also, does doing all this through a Mac make a difference?

    Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement
  2. wrapkgb

    wrapkgb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    242
    You say you wiped cache and dalvik, did you wipe data as well? If not wipe data, cache and dalvik then reflash.

    And don't worry.. as long as you can access recovery you are in good shape.
     
  3. Bezepae

    Bezepae Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I failed to mention that I did a data wipe along with the others. I've spent hours trying to fix this. Don't know where to go from here.
     
  4. wrapkgb

    wrapkgb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    242
    You must have a bad zip. Re download Fresh 3.4 or any other rom of your choice. Then boot into hboot, connect your phone to you mac, then select hboot usb. Your phone should show up on your mac. Put the new rom on the root of the sd (directly on the sd card and not in any folder). Eject to phone from the mac. Boot into recover. Wipe and reflash the rom.
     
  5. Bezepae

    Bezepae Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried the hboot usb method but it seems the only way to get the mac to recognise the phone is, through recovery by going into the partitions menu and selecting mount usb storage.
     
  6. Bezepae

    Bezepae Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any other suggestions are greatly appreciated!
     
  7. wrapkgb

    wrapkgb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    242
    You said your mac could recognize the phone from recovery. You need to get a new rom zip on your SD card so do it through recovery and mount so your you can access the SD card. If you can't do that your only other option would be buy an SD adapter for your cpu.
     
  8. Bezepae

    Bezepae Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    So here's what i've done. I booted into recovery and mounted the phone onto the desktop from mount usb option. Downloaded a rom (tried a couple actually) onto the sd card. Unmounted the phone, rebooted into recovery, did a data/cache wipe and tried to install the various zips I've downloaded. Problem is, when I select the rom I just keep getting these sub menus like jit, app, xbin, and the rom never seems to load. I feel like I'm missing a step somewhere.
     
  9. wrapkgb

    wrapkgb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    242
    When you download a zip file on your mac does it automatically unzip it when the download completes? The reason I ask is I have a mac and it would do that and it caused problems!
     
  10. surfologist87

    surfologist87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    110
    Hey there, did you get it figured out / fixed?
    Best of luck to you, let us know what happens...
     
  11. Bezepae

    Bezepae Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    That could be what it is. The zips usually show up as a folder in the downloads list and when I scroll over the same sub menus appear that I see in recovery.

    So far no luck, still not fixed.
     
  12. vmrchitect

    vmrchitect Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    2
    Here is the potential problem and resolve: Dont use the mac to download ZIP file cause the mac drops the .zip extension.... Download new copy of your rom with a windows based machine, load it on phone, then do the flash thing....
     
  13. Bezepae

    Bezepae Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0

    Just got hold of a PC, gonna give it a try.
     
  14. vmrchitect

    vmrchitect Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    2
    ..Im tellin ya! Let me know..
     
  15. vmrchitect

    vmrchitect Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hey, what happened.?. You were frantic and now you got help u dont need us???
     
  16. scudder

    scudder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    364
    Not that this helps the OP but perhaps someone else reading this..Macs not only "unzip" but "hyperunzip" :D ... there is a setting (forgot where it is though!!) where anything compressed will automatically expanded on the desktop (and perhaps other designated folders)!! That is a problem for, not only zip files that we use while rooted, but apk files will ALSO get expanded into an unusable folder or components.

    The fix...besides shutting off the automatic decompression in your Mac settings...is to download the zip or apk to a folder OTHER than you desktop. You can create a folder on your desktop or use a folder "deeper" within your computer. Then your zip will stay intact as will your apk files.
     
  17. vmrchitect

    vmrchitect Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hey, thanks..I dont have any issues with APK files on my Mac, only .zip files.... Lets see if we can figure this out.. Apparently, we helped the OP guy as he never let us know all was good.
     
  18. wrapkgb

    wrapkgb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    242
    Macs are perfectly capable of downloading zips.

    Open Safari
    Click Safari at the top next to the apple icon.
    Click preferences.
    General tab.
    At the very bottom UNCHECK "open safe files after downloading".

    Now redownload your zip files and it wont automatically unzip them.
     
    Bezepae and vmrchitect like this.
  19. vmrchitect

    vmrchitect Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thank you! (I love my MAC) it worked.. This saves me much time... Even though we will never know about the original post issue, your info has helped many! Thanks again!
     
    Bezepae likes this.
  20. scudder

    scudder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    364
    This would apply ONLY if you are using Safari. If someone out there reading this is using another browser and still having this problem, it is possible you have chosen a setting to AUTOMATICALLY EXPAND archives that are downloaded to a given folder, like the desktop. If you are using StuffIt Expander (or similar program) check the settings and turn on/off what you need...or designate a different folder for automatic expansion:

    [​IMG]

    REMEMBER that the folder you designate will automatically expand not only compressed archives like stuffit or zip but ALSO apk files!!! And it will REALLY mess up an apk!!:D


    EDIT: ADDING INFO 1/30/11
    Just want to add some recently gained information since this post back a few months ago. I wrote immediately up above that with the Mac, the automatic expansion of an APK file will "really mess up an apk!!" but I have learned that it is sometimes GOOD to do so. If you want to get into the apk file and view some of the icons and other programming files, then the automatic expansion of the APK will "decompile" the file to allow you to see those icons and other files. In the screenshot above, if you have Stuffit Expander and check the "continue expanding if possible" then a zipped APK file will not only unzip but will FURTHER DECOMPRESS/DECOMILE the apk file into folders and files that make up that apk package. NOT USEFUL if you want to keep the apk file intact for actual installation but IS USEFUL to get inside the APK and look around!
     
    Bezepae likes this.
  21. Bezepae

    Bezepae Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey fellas! Sorry for not responding but I was borrowing a PC and the person connection was so slow that I spent the whole of a day trying to downloads roms only for them to hang midway through the download. Frustration got the best of me so I had to take a break.

    So right now I'm trying again on a faster connection to install some roms. I'll let you know how it goes, at the same time I'm going to read up and on what's been posted on this thread since I took a little break.

    Thank you all for your help and interest. I'm on vacation without a phone trying to use the resources I've got to get this fixed.
     
  22. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    266
    ANd don't forget, if you have a good solid 3g connection you can download it straight to your phone. Obviously tis is not the greatest way to do it but if it is better than your hardwired connection then go for it. I have done it with good results.
     
  23. Bezepae

    Bezepae Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0

    I'd love to but I can't get out of recovery to flash that way.

    So when downloading the rom file from the PC. I mounted the phone onto the desktop but I'm still getting the sub menus on the sd card. Should I "extract" the files to the sd card or just drag and drop them? Not seeing any zip files just folders, so I'm going to go back to the mac and try out what was suggested.
     
  24. Bezepae

    Bezepae Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    EUREKA!!! That was the missing step! So good to have my phone back.

    Hopefully this will help others who use Macs because as I researched my problem there wasn't much Mac-based info.

    Thanks to you all for sticking with me through this and helping. I learned alot!
     
  25. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    266
    Glad you got it worked out!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...