Set CPU Confusion!


Last Updated:

  1. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    249
    LOL before you read the next paragraph someone had better explain to me how to put a screenshot up here. lol[​IMG]


    Can anyone explain how I did this? I'm sure my doorbell runs at a higher clock speed. I know I'm actually running at 245MHz, so what's 19.2MHz all about?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    can you upload it to photobucket/imgshack etc
    you cant link from your desktop lol
     
  3. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    anyway at a guss i think youve messed something up

    make sure setcpu is a minimum of 2.0.3
    when on the "main" tab at the top press menu and click "device selection"
    click "Autodetect Speeds Recommended"
    it should take you back to your screen with a "max" and "min" bar. also below that a scaling bar

    Max you can drag the bar up to 1152000 and min should be 245000
    if you are on leedroid i would advice setting the scaling to "smartass"
    tick set on boot.

    job done
     
  4. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    249


    I've not messed anything up, but while my phone is running happily at 245MHz Set CPU homescreen sliders will take my clock speed down to 19.2MHz??? I had no idea it was still possible to go that slowly!
     
  5. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    it can take it to 19.2 if you set the slider that low.
    the way your post was presented made it look like you had some how locked it at these levels and you needed to get out of it

    if you manually set it to those levels then you can.
    be warned that it can hang and not wake up being that low.
    running 245 mhz desire as max? doesnt that defeat the object of having a powerfull cpu?
     
  6. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    249
    The screenshot, when I can get it to load shows 245MHz which I think is the actual clock speed reading as when snapshot was taken even though both min and max sliders can be taken to 19.2.
     
  7. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    whats your max slider set to?

    yes it can be dropped as low as 19mhz, it does not mean its an acceptable speed and in most cases it will cause you problems
     
  8. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    249
    [​IMG]

    My phone cant be running on these settings, there is no change in performance whatsoever!
     
  9. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    as i said in the 1st post
    you did not select autodetect, you selected htc_msm which will give you the wrong values as its a different build
     
    InfernalByte likes this.
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Definitely what rastaman says. Was going to say the samemyself
     
  11. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    249
    [​IMG]


    Sorry I been watchin Poirot and eatin Satsumas. Monk is on now lol.

    I did that thing and I seem to have my numbers back, although I'm still confused because my phone wasn't operating at 19.2MHz! My old ZX Spectrum's Z80 couldn't even clock that slow. Also Rastaman you say max is 1152000, mine does not go that high :(
     
  12. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Don't be confused. It just says 19.2 because it doesn't have anything to go off.

    Some kernels only go to 1113. Most Havs for example
     
  13. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    depends on kernel, im using leedroid and it can go up to 119000

    the reason why it was showing min and max at 19.2 is because you set the wrong device type.
     

Share This Page

Loading...