Set profile by GPS location


Last Updated:

  1. koldtoft

    koldtoft Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    I herd somewhere there is an application that can change your hero profiel by your GPS location.

    So that when I go the the cinema is goes to silent. When im am work, it's work profile with wifi ect. When I am at home it's home profile with bluetooth and so on.

    Do anyone know if there is such and application, and if so, what is it called?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Edaze55

    Edaze55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    1
    I believe the app you are looking for is Locale.
     
  3. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    72
    It's called Locale, but be warned - location based profiles can be problematic.

    Don't get me wrong, I LOVE locale, but it's ahead of it's time right now. It's ahead of hardware and location tracking technology right now.

    Right now, using locale, and using a location-based profile is problematic because if your phone loses location information, then locale returns to defaults or to some other profile.

    Like if your "work" profile is based on you being in your building from 8am-5pm, if you're in an elevator, or the basement and your phone loses a track on your location for more than a few seconds, locale will turn off that work profile.

    There's no real intelligent way to solve that issue. I mean if it just assumes when it loses location that you're still in the same place, and to keep the current profile running, then that could be a problem if it loses your location info just outside your office building and doesn't get back a clear signal till the end of the day -- the profile would never start.

    I use it, but don't use location based criteria, the hardware and system of location tracking just isn't ready for locale. Plus, with cupcake, programs are no longer allowed to turn GPS on or off without user input.
     
  4. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,390
    Likes Received:
    16,500
    I agree with you re Locale and GPS-based solutions. I've been looking at augmenting it with Wibble in order to use wi-fi hotspots as 'locators'. So far it's working quite well but I have to do more work on the different profiles to avoid clashes. Something you might find useful yourself though?

    /Al
     
  5. flowersinlondon

    flowersinlondon Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been using Locale and love it. Its clever, but its connects to the GPS often. Is there a way for me to increase the frequency of checking the current location? Or will I be able to control it if I add a time factor into the condition?

    On my G2, it connects to the GPS every 15 minutes or so and I don't want it to do that.
     
  6. zurloid

    zurloid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    3
    I've written a little app called LocationBot that can change the phone's settings according to your location. It will use GPS if this is switched on, if not it will get a (less accurate) location from the cell network. Currently it supports the following settings:

    WiFi (on/off)
    WiFi (SSID)
    WiFi (static ip or DHCP)
    Bluetooth (on/off)
    Vibrate (on/off)
    Ringtone
    Ringer volume
    Time active (time this profile is active)

    There's a lite version called "LocationBotLite" which allows 2 saved locations (e.g. work and home), an unrestricted version should be in the Android market within a few days. You can also download it from this URL:

    LocationBot
     
  7. cyber_system_tk

    cyber_system_tk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    You are brilliant !!!! :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...