Set up port forwardingSupport

1. Wayne63

Wayne63 New Member

Hi all,

Need some help on how to set up port forwarding when i'm on mobile internet, please help. Wayne

Advertisement
  2. El Presidente

El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate! Moderator

How do you mean? Incoming to your handset or using it as a wifi hotspot?
  3. Wayne63

Wayne63 New Member

Incoming to my phone
  4. El Presidente

I don't think it's possible. I've limited knowledge of networks, but isn't port forwarding making sure incoming traffic on certain ports goes to a specific IP/MAC address on your network via the router/gateway? Eg, I want my router to forward all incoming traffic on port 80 to IP address 192.168.2.117.

If you're using mobile internet, your phone is technically its own gateway?

Do you mind me asking what you need it for?
  5. john_g

john_g Well-Known Member

alostpacket and El Presidente like this.
  6. Wayne63

Wayne63 New Member

I have on my laptop cctv software with remout viewing, the instructions says that I have to enable my htc, (Router) to forward data.
  7. El Presidente

After a quick google, it looks as though you're stuck with the bog standard "Enable Wifi Hotpsot" if you want to conect the phone to the PC wirelessly. Although if you're using 3G on the handeset, you can connect the phone to the laptop via usb cable using USB Tethering or Internet Passthorugh (Can't remember which) and the laptop will use the phone's internet connection.

There is software available that will turn HTC phones into wireless routers but it's only available for windows mobiles.
  8. Wayne63

Wayne63 New Member

I already connect the phone to the laptop via usb cable using USB Tethering, which works fine, ie can send and receive emails via google mail, download etc, but when I try to to type in my assigned ip address from t-mobile from another computer to view the camers it wont load the port is set at 80
  9. rhod

rhod Well-Known Member