setcpu is working on my Dinc


Last Updated:

  1. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207

    Advertisement
  2. Steve03Merc

    Steve03Merc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    2
    Could this help alleviate the battery problems? Especially with the processor way underclocked like that?
     
  3. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207
    yea thats why i have profiles that change the clock speeds based on battery and stuff... but i dont know whats the best ones yet
     
  4. crimton

    crimton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    180
    what rom are you using? how exactly did you do this i have never done this before.. thanks
     
  5. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207
    ok i first made sure to do a NAND back up and then downloaded this file from XDA
    xda-developers - View Single Post - Freq unlocked kernel **UPDATE 6/23 | Released** / Now w/ pics

    and put it on the root of you SD card

    next i downloaded rom manager from market and install it.
    then in rom manager hit Flash Clockmod recovery... click the pop-up

    then click install rom from SD and find the file you put on your SD card...

    on the pop up hit back up rom if you have not done a nand backup... if u have just leave them blank and hit ok.

    it will flash into recovery and install the kernel

    i dont know if this is the correct way since this is my first time with an android phone but it worked for me. if it doesnt then do a NAND back up and start over
     
    crimton likes this.
  6. crimton

    crimton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    180
    ok yea, thats kinda what i thought...i already did nand backup yesterday and titanium backup this morning. i was under the impression that custom roms come with an overclockable kernal..? i may just wait til a video tutorial pops up, i like watching someone else do it first thanks though :)
     
  7. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207
    i used a youtube video to help me... its for a different phone but still same steps... if i had a camera i would film me doing it but i dont

    Edit: this is what i used
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W7D16hiMqXA
     
    crimton likes this.
  8. PossumK

    PossumK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2
    Or, without needing another app:

    -put the .zip file on your SD card
    -boot the phone into the ClockworkMod recovery mode (volume down + power when the phone is off, then choose recovery mode)
    -"install zip from sdcard"
    -"choose zip from sdcard"
    -navigate to the .zip file, and select it


    It's somewhere in the main thread:
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=701282
     
    crimton likes this.
  9. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207
    yea i did that the first time and it didnt work so i looked for another way
     
  10. PossumK

    PossumK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2
    What didn't work when you tried it?
     
  11. crimton

    crimton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    180
    so you have to install the custom kernal and custom rom separate? or will some be in the same .zip?

    ok i think i see, they are seperate but they will go together....right?
     
  12. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207
    when i turned back on... none of my rooted apps worked...? but maybe i didnt wait long enough
     
  13. ZXMustang

    ZXMustang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    10
    how is the speed now that its overclocked? Also bring up your minimum to 250mhz.
     
  14. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207
    what will that change?
     
  15. ZXMustang

    ZXMustang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    10
    The low setting it what your phone idles at when its not doing stuff. If you set it too low, it will not come out of sleep fast enough and you may miss calls. The Droid is like this when its set to 128mhz. That instant lag can lock it up, and it takes a few seconds to recover. Trust me, 250mhz is the lowest you want it set to.
     
  16. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207
    havent had a problem so far... but ill keep testing and thanks for the heads up
     
  17. ooz

    ooz Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
  18. CheeseJam

    CheeseJam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    44
    With Froyo, what is the max this thing can be overclocked to do you guys think? Should be the same as the nexus One, EVO 4G, etc., right? How high can they be overclocked with Froyo?
     
  19. zeke88

    zeke88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    13
    i got a question, what does "set on boot" mean on setCPU?
     
  20. paimon.soror

    paimon.soror Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    76
    Since it is a software overclock, it will only overclock the CPU when the application is running. Once you open the app, it will then sit in the background as a service and keep your over (or under) clock. If you do not enable "set on boot" it will not set your custom speeds on reboot, but only when you open the application after a reboot. 'set on boot' is pretty much like adding the app to the 'startup list'.

    BTW, anyone know of a good way to make sure that the Sleep profile is actually working?
     
  21. BreakTheStatic

    BreakTheStatic Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    15
    How do you set the max higher? I did the auto detect in setcpu and the max is set to 1152mhz and that is the highest the slider will go. Any way to override this? I tried picking other devices but their max values are even lower...

    Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk
     
  22. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207
    that is the highest anyone can get without the phone crashing
     
  23. BreakTheStatic

    BreakTheStatic Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    15
    But is there a way to manually adjust it higher or is the 1152 limit set in the kernel?

    Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk
     
  24. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207
    that is the limit of the kernel
     
  25. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207

Share This Page

Loading...