SetCPU issue...?


Last Updated:

  1. gilligan156

    gilligan156 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright, so I've rooted using DroidMod (right, I know, easy way out, I was too afraid of bricking it doing it the hard way) and I've installed SetCPU, but for some reason, it will only let me clock up to 600mHz.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks, all.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Because you selected 'Droid' as your model, instead of 'Automatic'
     
  3. gilligan156

    gilligan156 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome! Easy fix. Also, the customer that showed me this, he had an app that was monitoring the temperatures of the internals to make sure everything was ok. What app is that?
     
  4. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    It's called TempMonitor. It's not free, but definitely worth the $1-2.
     
  5. droidpcguru

    droidpcguru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    19
    EDIT: Asked this over at DroidMod. The DM kernel does support Tempmonitor:). This means that some of the posts I have read saying it doesn't are wrong..

    Customer?? You work at a Verizon outlet by chance? If so it's pretty cool to see a Verizon employee rooting:p
     
  6. gilligan156

    gilligan156 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep. I work in a retail store.

    So, if not tempmonitor, any other ideas?
     
  7. droidpcguru

    droidpcguru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    19
    Tempmonitor WILL and does work with Droidmod. I edited my post after I asked at their Forum. Seems many posts here on this site are wrongly saying it wont work with their kernel.

    I have since tested it and can surely say that it does:)
     
  8. droidpcguru

    droidpcguru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    19
    Kudos to you for working for them AND having the kahunas to root:D. The guy at our local outlet saw my Droid with live wallpapers running and my fancy theme by looking at my phone while I was replying to a text and gave me a big lecture about "Breaking my phone by not running the official OS"..:rolleyes:

    I reassured him that I was a PC/electronics Guru and knew what I was doing, and that I am finally happy to see what my Droid will really do. He was also intrigued to hear me tell him about the OMAP3430's operable temperature ranges and stability while overclocked, and the "OS I am running" being just as stable as 2.0.1 even at 1.2GHz. He quickly gave up on his lecture..lmao:) Fortunately I was only pricing accessories so he didn't get my name/look up my account to tag it about my warranty..
     
  9. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Feh. That lecture would have lasted all of about 3 seconds on me.

    Unless I was feeling feisty, that is....
     

Share This Page

Loading...