SetCpu question


Last Updated:

  1. ohm911

    ohm911 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    can anyone help me select the right profile to save my battery performance? also i heard setcpu need kernel and if so which kernel is need and how would i install that?


    thanks u
     

    Advertisement
  2. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    picord and ohm911 like this.
  3. ohm911

    ohm911 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the reply chitown i just followed the instruction that guy has given. now my question is do i need any other program like kernel also to be running and does the SETCPU always running and saving my battery as recommended by you on ur guide? one more thing how did you get ur battery icon to show the percantages like what app?


    thank you once again
     
  4. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    yeah install either a hydra undervolted kernal or the new kings kernal . Do a search on the site you should be able to find it.

    You should still see battery improvments with the stock kernal but with a good undervolted kernal you will see much more. This thread was with Hydra Undervolted Overclocked kernal
     
  5. Bearly

    Bearly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    78
    So, you are running an undervolted kernel?

    If I do a nandroid, will the kernel be backed up?

    I'd like to try the kernel and, if all goes well and I notice an improvement in battery life, I'd like to do a nandroid backup.

    By the way, with SetCPU, I noticed that if I set the max clock speed to ~850 MHz on the main screen, the current clockspeed will still spike to 998 (or whatever the max is), and that's with Perfclock Disabled.

    Any ideas what's going on? Is that how it's supposed to work?
     
  6. appleaj

    appleaj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    55
    Do I need to use the Perflock Disabler often, or just when I start the application?
     
  7. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    I honestly don't know how SetCPU works on the stock kernal never used it with the stock kernal I've never noticed the CPU going higher then what I have it set to in SetCPU . With any aftermarket Kernals you don't need to disable perflock but I do believe you need to with the stock kernal or else everytime you shut down you basically disable SetCPU
     
  8. dscribe

    dscribe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    140
    On stock kernel you have to disable perflock and there are fewer governor options available from the kernel to show up in setcpu.
     
  9. ohm911

    ohm911 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    can i install the hydra undervolted kernal via rom manager or how else would i be abe to install? also where would i find it?


    thanks
     
  10. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    Hydra Kernels - Overclocked Kernels

    Download to root of SDcard , boot into recovery and install the zip. There are more detailed instructions on the site
     

Share This Page

Loading...