SetCPU says no root = wrong. Any help?


Last Updated:

  1. Cidorov

    Cidorov New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Used root helper app to root my phone. Backed up using recovery. Installed 2.1. Loaded boot image for 800mhz. Now SetCPU says it doesn't have root access. I can browse any files and obviously have root given what I have done so far. Any suggestions? I cant find a way to give SetCPU root access.

    Thanks for any help.
     

    Advertisement
  2. shizzy1427

    shizzy1427 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    36
    It doesn't ask for su permissions when you open the app?
     
  3. Cidorov

    Cidorov New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just says "No root access detected. Are applications allowed access to root? Operating in read-only mode."

    Any ideas?
     
  4. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    well first off, do you have the superuser permissions app with the ninja in your app drawer? if you do then you are rooted.

    second, use autodetect, not droid in the device selection of setcpu.

    other than that i have no idea.
     
  5. JarrettV

    JarrettV Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have superuser app, and root access, but I still get the not root access message and no ask for permission
     
  6. Cidorov

    Cidorov New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I originally installed the first 2.1 that came out. It unrooted my phone. I had to download the Dev Kit and use a terminal to setup SU.

    Here is the last of the process:

    24) at the command prompt, type "adb shell" - it should drop you to the following prompt:

    $

    25) type "su" and it should drop you to the following prompt:

    #

    26) type the following, in order (don't include the #):

    # mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    # cd /system/bin
    # mv su osu
    # cat /data/local/su > su
    # chmod 6755 su

    27) type "ls -l *su" to verify that you have two files: the original "su" that came with the phone is now named "osu", and the new one you just put in place. You should see something like this:

    -rwsr-sr-x root root 76200 2008-08-01 05:00 osu
    -rwsr-sr-x root root 76200 2009-05-30 11:28 su

    28) finish by running a sync, and then executing "reboot" to reboot the phone:

    # sync
    # reboot

    29) once the phone is back up, go to the Market and download a terminal emulator if you don't have one already (search for "terminal" in the Market, there's "Android Terminal Emulator, Better Terminal Emulator Pro, Terminal Emulator in that list - you can choose which one you want. I am using Better Terminal Emulator Pro)
    30) launch your terminal program. at the prompt, type "su" and hit enter. you should get the following:

    $ su
    su: access granted, courtesy of Your Page Title
    #
     
  7. JarrettV

    JarrettV Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    6
    C:\Programs\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb shell
    * daemon not running. starting it now *
    * daemon started successfully *
    # su
    su
    # mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    # cd /system/bin
    cd /system/bin
    # mv su osu
    mv su osu
    # cat /data/local/su > su
    cat /data/local/su > su
    /data/local/su: No such file or directory
    # ls -l *su
    ls -l *su
    -rwsr-xr-x root root 26628 2008-08-01 07:00 osu
    -rw-rw-rw- root root 0 2010-02-20 10:59 su
     
  8. Droid_Ninja

    Droid_Ninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    3
    I am getting the Same thing right after installed SHOLES 2.0.6 But I also have another problem, I don't know how to do all that programming stuff... So if anyone can help with some Steps to make this thing Root and work again, it would be greatly appreciated!!!
     
  9. JarrettV

    JarrettV Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    6
    just installed the latest bugless beast 1.0 and it fixed the problem. I got the root request permission dialog.
     
  10. rhyno

    rhyno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    Live wallpapers seemed to be breaking root for a lot of people. That may be the cause.
     
  11. monsterenergy22

    monsterenergy22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    53
    i just had this happen to me. i had a rooted phone running bb 7.6. i formatted my sd card and then flashed bb 7.8 but setcpu said no root was detected. so i tried the nandroid backup of bb that peter has posted and it fixed the problem.
     
  12. dmodert66

    dmodert66 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    221
    Just out of curiosity, why did you wipe the SD card? Just wanted a clean slate? I have never wiped mine when flashing roms...Is there a good reason to do this?
     
  13. monsterenergy22

    monsterenergy22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    53
    not sure if it actually helps anything, but i wanted a clean slate. i had alot of random folders from old apps and didnt feel like sorting through them all. lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...