SetCPU - Simple question


Last Updated:

  1. nerdstaz

    nerdstaz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    42
    If I am using one of the OC kernels (the ultra-low Chevy 1.2) is SetCPU necessary? If so under what circumstances?
     

    Advertisement
  2. tom108

    tom108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    309
    if you want to be able to adjust the CPU. not all roms will by default peg it to the max of the kernel. also you can set profiles to keep your phone safe under charging and battery level conditions.
     
  3. sch911

    sch911 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    4
    AFAIK: Yes. It's used to set the upper and lower CPU clock speed. Without it the kernel runs at the default speed. Doesn't matter what kernel.
     
  4. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    You should use it if you want to use Profiles to clock your CPU down when it is getting hot, or the battery is low, or when charging, etc.
     
  5. nerdstaz

    nerdstaz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    42
    So the kernels do not actually run any faster? (sorry for the newb questions =P)

    Thanks for your help!
     
  6. GreyMouser

    GreyMouser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    8
    It depends on the ROM. Pete's ROMs run the kernel at max speed by default, for example (according to his build notes.) But you'll want SetCPU for fine-tuning the control. Well worth the minimal cost.
     

Share This Page

Loading...