SetCPU


Last Updated:

  1. symp el

    symp el Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just rooted tonight and installed SetCPU. I want to use it for the battery saving capabilites. I created a profile for when the screen is off and activated it, do I also need to check "set on boot" on the SetCPU main page?
     

    Advertisement
  2. rob989_69

    rob989_69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    17
    Yes
     
  3. Rhiannon224

    Rhiannon224 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15
    This sucked, caused major lag. I purchased extra betteries and charger for $10 on e-bay with free shipping, I'd rather carry extra batteries than slow this device to a crawl.
     
  4. vapor311

    vapor311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    15
    agreed setcpu is a waste of time the oneclick lag fix from xda is way better than screwing with setcpu, it has issues following the profile setups, doesnt like to follow its own commands and in general uses more battery than it saves. go to the xda forums and use the one click lag fix...matter of fact if u have the open marker u can download it from there and run it its called ryansza search for that youll find it. took my phone from 700 change benchmark to 2300 plus runs faster and cleaner than ever and my battery life holds up tons more.
     
  5. coolbho3000

    coolbho3000 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    8
    If you get lag because of your SetCPU settings, you're doing it wrong.

    1. 100/100 on sleep is most probably going to lag waking up. Look, you're running at 1/10 of the normal speed of the phone. What the hell do you think will happen? Do 100/400 upon sleep or something, it's going to still limit your speed during sleep mode, but it's going to be much better waking up.
    2. The new version of SetCPU actually specifically tells you to use the conservative scaling for Galaxy S devices. Some other scaling settings might cause your phone to stick to 100MHz or crash. This is a kernel limitation.
    3. SetCPU just being installed by itself cannot cause lag, except if maybe you're using the widget with an active refresh. Profiles run through a passive service that only runs code when something "happens" - your screen turning off, for example, triggers profiles to quickly check your settings and determine whether it should do something.

    Don't scream OMFG MAJOR LAG when you have no idea what is going on behind the scenes. If you really want your phone to be fast (beyond, you know, what fixing one of the phone's software flaws would yield you), install Unhelpful's 1.2GHz kernel and overclock.

    Before you jump to conclusions please consider the fact that you may not know what you are talking about. :)
     
  6. vapor311

    vapor311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    15
    or maybe I do. Setcpu is trash. It does not prioritize profile as it claims to. I had multiple profiles setup for battery stengths, charging sessions etc, how I could tell it was working.

    Battery level less than 50% run between 400-100 priorty 100% and guess what? phone was sitting at 33 it was still sitting on default performance 1000-400 and would not take my profile and allow it to take over. I have the setcpu setup page, I read it, I follow it, for christ sake Im a software support tech I do have an idea of what I am doing. This app is a pos. It has great potential i wont lie about that. However currently it has piss poor priority settings within itself to recognize profiles and their setup.

    so before you jump dont assume that people might now what they are talking about. :D
     
  7. coolbho3000

    coolbho3000 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    8
    You CHECK THE NOTIFICATIONS BOX, then PULL DOWN THE NOTIFICATION SHADE. Sorry for the caps, but it's just that simple. SetCPU will let you know which profile is currently active. If you read the docs, you must not have read them very closely - the documentation says this clearly, and the screenshots in it at least imply this.

    Or, if you have access to logging capabilities, SetCPU logs whenever it switches profiles. This is how you can tell it's working when the screen is off.

    I'm sure you did not set up your priorities correctly. In fact, if you had multiple profiles and kept the 50% battery profile at priority 100 then I'm 100% sure you didn't have your profiles set up correctly. Another possible explanation was that you were reading the sliders in the main interface (saved settings for the main profile) instead of the green numbers (current).

    I'm sorry, I just guessed based on your clearly uninformed comment that you didn't know what you were talking about. You're a tech support guy for Apple? Good for you, that makes you instantly qualified to talk about an Android application you tried out once!

    I am a respected kernel developer in the Nexus One community, I've been an Android app developer for a over a year, I have years of experience in software development, and I've spent hundreds of hours single handily developing the app you just dismissed in three paragraphs because you didn't understand how to use it.
     
  8. vapor311

    vapor311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    15
    no you assumed I have no knowledge of how to use what is honestly a very crudely and under developed app, with poor responsiveness. You would be incorrect. So incorrect as a matter of fact, Ive now taken the app into my own hands and I dont know who it belonged to originally(not someone who claims to have 100's of hours into it, Ill find the real person with the rights to it) but Im going to offer to help make changes to it with them. It needs improvement.

    You CHECK THE NOTIFICATIONS BOX, then PULL DOWN THE NOTIFICATION SHADE. Sorry for the caps, but it's just that simple. SetCPU will let you know which profile is currently active. If you read the docs, you must not have read them very closely - the documentation says this clearly, and the screenshots in it at least imply this.

    This is an asinine statement, I know how to read. The profile never changed even with saved profiled showing 100% for when the battery went below a certain point to kick in. The app itself has its own conflicts with recognizing profiles.

    I'm sure you did not set up your priorities correctly. In fact, if you had multiple profiles and kept the 50% battery profile at priority 100 then I'm 100% sure you didn't have your profiles set up correctly. Another possible explanation was that you were reading the sliders in the main interface (saved settings for the main profile) instead of the green numbers (current).

    Another assumption. Your good at these. They were set correctly. Once again Im capable of reading. Its not a difficult task to setup multiple profiles, if they dont respond reduce it to one and check them one by one to see which ones arent responding. So after AHEM giving it more than one try wise ass, I deleted all profiles, reduced it to just on to reduce cpu usage when battery came below 50% set priority to 100% and saved it, it still failed to respond. The notification bar reflected this also. I can also render the difference between the main interface sliders and the nice green current numbers.

    I'm sorry, I just guessed based on your clearly uninformed comment that you didn't know what you were talking about. You're a tech support guy for Apple? Good for you, that makes you instantly qualified to talk about an Android application you tried out once!

    I am a respected kernel developer in the Nexus One community, I've been an Android app developer for a over a year, I have years of experience in software development, and I've spent hundreds of hours single handily developing the app you just dismissed in three paragraphs because you didn't understand how to use it.

    Well I guess the nexus one community is proud of you. I was simply stating Im not some dumb effing noob trying to use an app and have no idea what Im doing. Wasnt trying to brag about being some nexus one developer in some community for over a year. If this is even true then great, recognize it had the potential to be a great app, but had definite flaws and needs work before you tout it as this great end all program that its not.
     
  9. vapor311

    vapor311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    15
  10. coolbho3000

    coolbho3000 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    8
    The 5 stars the app has in the Android Market and the immense positive feedback I've gotten from profiles on 2.0.x says otherwise, but you can think what you want.

    I probably can't convince you that you used it wrong, but I'm quite sure that you did. Just for you, I'll say that there was a bug in profiles that prevented them from on exceptionally stupid users' phones.

    Here, how about you give me another chance? I'll send you SetCPU and tell you, step by step, exactly how to set it up. Do you want to do this or are you afraid that you're wrong?

    EDIT: Again, you fail to read. The ondemand freezing issue is a kernel issue, not SetCPU's, and now there is a release note that tells users to avoid ondemand if necessary.

     
  11. vapor311

    vapor311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    15
    No, absolutely not. I have no issue what so ever with this. Im anything but a stupid user so Ill give it another go if you would like to tell me something the setcpu page didnt.

    Ill reinstall it and tell you the profiles I wish to have and you can tell me exactly what settings and what options and settings for each page of the app

    deal?

    Im wiling to bet the notification icon will still not change as it wasnt before, the issue the whole time was it not responding to profile changes as they should take prevalence to anything else when set to 100%

    link the apk and ill toss it back on again within a mintue ;)
     
  12. Rhiannon224

    Rhiannon224 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15
    It is apparent that it is you who dosen't know what you are talking about. Do not insult my level of intelligence when you have no clue what I am doing with my phone. Don't imply rude comments. I didn't go saying anything other than it sucked, it caused lag and I don't like it. Have yourself a nice day.
     
  13. Karl_Tx

    Karl_Tx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also purchased setcpu for my captivate and it made it run poorly.....lagged....chunky. Uninstalled it and am just running atm and the phone with lagfix hits 2275 quadrant scores. I guess setcpu isn't for everyone......out a $1.99 but learned something.
     
  14. Rhiannon224

    Rhiannon224 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15
    I tried it, played with settings for about an hour and to no avail it ran terrible. I am not a stupid noob, I spend hours at night reading all of the threads on the XDA developer's site and I have done tons of customizing on my device. I use LauncherPro and love it, I didn't like Touchwiz at all. I did refund my purchase of SetCPU withing a few hours so at least I didn't pay for something that clearly is not dessigned well for the Captivate. RyanZA's one click gives higher quadrant scores, I prefer Tayutama's Ext4 because I have no more FC issues with apps. It scores between 1900 and 2000 quadrant scores, the real world speed is identical so I am happy with my current setup.
    I am however having issues with the music player, the music was crackling badly, I thought it was the headphones so I tried 3 different pairs and the same thing happenned, it kept stuttering in the middle of songs. I am not at all happy about that. My mp3 player worked perfectly with the same music files, they are WMP files not mp3 because to me mp3 sounds compressed to shit. I Sad to because the sound quality blows away any mp3 playern when it isn't stalling and breaking up. I am considering flashing with Odin today and swapping it for number 3.
     
  15. coolbho3000

    coolbho3000 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    8
    I can probably address the issue, if there is any. I doubt that the Galaxy S will lag with everything set to conservative (I just got a Captivate and I'm testing everything I can right now). My Captivate did seem to get locked to 100MHz under certain conditions (interactive scaling using Unhelpful's 1.2GHz kernel) but never when using conservative scaling. The scaling governor issue is a kernel issue, and if it's going to be fixed, a kernel patch is necessary.

    vapor: I'm going to PM you a link to the app. Set it up like this:
    Main tab: 1000000 max/100000 min. Set on boot checked. Conservative scaling.
    Profiles tab: Set it up like this: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/36553/profiles_.png Exact priorities aren't important, just this order.

    The behavior should be:
    When the phone is plugged in, it will run 1000/1000. However, when the screen is off, it will run 400/100 (see this in the logcat). If the phone is unplugged and the screen is on, the battery profiles will be active. If the battery is under 50%, it'll underclock to 800 max, and if it's under 30%, it'll underclock to 600 max. Verify this using the notification and the green numbers in the main interface.

    If the profile switch does not happen immediately, wait a while or turn the screen off and back on. The app uses broadcast intents to "catch" certain system events and acts based on these events.

    My e-mail reports seem to only raise the issue of freezing upon ondemand. I don't have solid proof that SetCPU is actually causing any sort of lag (based on how it works, I believe that simple "causing lag" isn't possible - it may be something else). If I do find an issue, I will do everything that is in my power to fix it. The ondemand issue is unfortunate, but there is little I can do about it (being a kernel issue) except maybe disable the option if the app detects a Galaxy S.

    Did anyone use the widget with an active refresh interval?

    Ohbtw - from my own testing, I've found that the greatly increased Quadrant scores after the lag fix are due to Quadrant itself weighing its file system tests too heavily after the lag fix (the lag fix makes the file system go off the chart, I'm not sure if this is artificial or not). Though the lag fix does improve performance, just because the Quadrant score jumped to two or three times what it was before the lag fix does not mean that the overall performance of the phone had a similar increase. For benchmarks of other things, like floating point performance, use something like Linpack.
     
  16. vapor311

    vapor311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    15
    just so your aware the battery < 30% has to be set to 400 max or 800 the slider does not have a 600 slot on the galaxy s captivate. Not sure why. it will jump 600 every time. So for now its set to 400.

    everything else is set as is we shall see!
     
  17. whitenerj

    whitenerj Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    I would like to know how you setup Setcpu? I just installed it and checked off conservative and load on boot. Thats all I did. Should I setup more on it?

    Jason
     
  18. vapor311

    vapor311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    15
    I already see a huge problem, phones at 29%, looks like setcpu has respinded, however the phone is SO sluggish i cant even get into my apps menu, it just locks up and sits forever requiring a hard reboot, IE battery yanking, tried 3x now. It occurs everytime bringing it out of sleep and that below 30% profile (im assuming) running at 400 isnt enough to even keep the phone fast enough to function, or Its the sleep method screen off 400. Either way the phone becomes a brick, even if you just turn it on and let it sit to warm up to the 400 like it might need a moment, its done for and only solution is to batt yank. These are the issues people are having with it and why your getting the reported lag complaints with setcpu. Im not sure whats been missed but maybe there needs to be a priority for upon wake up to max the cpu to 1k to get it running then lower to profile settings gradually as to not lock the system up.

    thoughts?
     
  19. gunny5821

    gunny5821 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    29
    So, where is the reply? This was just getting good, lets have part 2, lol....
     
  20. coolbho3000

    coolbho3000 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    8
    So profiles work? ;)

    Fixing it isn't that simple. This is a kernel bug. For now, if you're going to use it, don't force it to underclock that low. I'm currently investigating this issue, but it's difficult and I don't think there is much I can do from SetCPU's side (kernel patches will need to be implemented).

    A 600MHz slot can be obtained (if you want it) using Unhelpful's 1.2GHz kernel. Those screenshots were, of course, taken on my Captivate.
     
  21. vapor311

    vapor311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    15
    the only 2 i was able to test was the below 30 and the charging one. However I had to disable because the phone became a brick using the below 30% profile I could turn it up to 800 but then it would be the same as the 50.

    It shouldnt be overly difficult to set an awake status into the coding that upon awake run at full percent for say 60 second then induce profiles. This way the phone doesnt brick coming out of sleep.

    thoughts?
     
  22. jcollake

    jcollake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    UPDATE after becoming sober and thinking a bit...

    SetCPU shouldn't do anything if no profiles or settings were changed, right? It passively changes scaling based on triggers as defined in the profiles, as I understand it. However, its mere presence, and post-autodetect recommended speeds, seems to cause issues on some devices. I didn't change the scaling type, used Conservative as recommended for the Galaxy S.

    Is there any possibility that SetCPU's 'autodetect recommended speeds' causes some sort of problem, or that its mere presence can cause problems? It wouldn't seem so.. and I understand why you wouldn't believe it could, but..

    Also, don't call your users stupid, it is bad policy.
     
  23. jcollake

    jcollake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Updated my previous post, as after I thought about it, I was surely all wrong. Changes to the CPU scaling type or specific frequency should only occur based on triggers as defined in the profiles. Yet, I swear.. its mere presence after running it once seemed to cause issues on Galaxy S class devices even when using conservative scaling. I must be wrong, but things are good without it... and I never even used the profiles or changed settings. Maybe with extended evaluation, I'll realize the cause was something else.

    As I said though, in the 'auto-detect recommended speeds' the developer needs to be VERY careful. For all devices that are not completely tested, it needs to do nothing, or refuse to run.

    You should also add more warnings and protection against clearly improper profiles. You can not at all assume users are going to properly use the profiles section, and you can't call them dumb for misconfiguring it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...