setcpu?


Last Updated:

  1. chosendude

    chosendude Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just downloaded setcpu and im using nexmod 1.0 and it only allows my max speed at 600 mhz. How do i get it up to 1000 or up?
     

    Advertisement
  2. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    305
    what kernel are you running?
     
  3. chosendude

    chosendude Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    A 600mhz.. that might be why. How do I upgrade the kernel?
     
  4. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    305
    You can either find a kernel from P3Droid, Bekit, Chevy1, etc. online or if you have ROM Manager you can go hit your menu hard key go into settings and turn on advanced mode, then go into Download ROMs and in the Koush section there will be a bunch of kernels you can try...
     
  5. chosendude

    chosendude Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK I found the kernel I want on my computer
    How do I transfer it to my phone?
     
  6. holeshot

    holeshot Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just like any other . Rename it update.zip move it to your SD card and run it.
     
  7. Haywire

    Haywire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    1
    Not to be a thread jacker but is there a way without a custom rom to get it higher then 600? I'm using cynagien (I always botch the spelling)and just got the widget that let's you overclock it but I think the max is 600.. till I get my laptop bacl I guess ill settle for that
     
  8. cggorman

    cggorman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    664
    You don't need a custom ROM, but you do need root, SU access, and an overclocking kernel...and SetCPU, of course.
     
  9. dmodert66

    dmodert66 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    221
    It's not a "rom" that you need, it's a Kernel. People who make roms usually link to kernels that are available and known to work with said rom. Download one that works with yours, rename to update.zip and put on the root of your SD card. The run the update .zip on your phone.

    Once you boot back in, open setcpu, then choose options (the button with 4 lines). Then choose "Device Selection". Lastly, Choose "Auto Detect" from the options. You should then be able to clock to whatever speed the kernel allows (I'm running a 1.2 right now, but I keep it at 1 Ghz...)
     
  10. Haywire

    Haywire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can I do this with rom manager or will I have to wait for my laptop to come back?
     
  11. Fadelight

    Fadelight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    95
    If you have Cyanogen, then the Bekit kernels can be found in ROM manger.

    Download ROM> CyanogenMod> Bekit Kernels (0.8.3)

    Pick your poison. I prefer the Low Voltage (LV) Kernels, but some people have trouble running them.

    Remember: DO NOT choose to wipe data/cache when you do this. It isn't a ROM. You could potentially open a matradex time plane and create a paradox that will unravel life as we know it. Not to mention the fact that you might also brick your phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...