Setting a Sound as Notification and RingtoneGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. Bruce_205

    Bruce_205 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    Back when I got my phone, I transfered an MP3 from the computer to the SD card and selected it as ringtone. it is still there and still works.....but now, after the OTA update, when I go into settings/phone ringtone this sound is not on the list. How do I get it back?

    Also, under notifications, in the list of sounds the ones on my SD card are not there. I have a sound stored on the card that I would like to set as the notification. I mounted the card to my computer to verify that these files are indeed on the SD card. The phone just isn't seeing them in the list of available sounds...but, they do play if I go into MP3 or Music app.
     

    Advertisement
  2. natsu

    natsu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    4
    You might have to move the sound into the folder "ringtones" if you want the option to use it as either, put it in both folders.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Bruce_205

    Bruce_205 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    I dont have a folder on the SD card called ringtones, or alarms, or notifications. Is there a folder for that in the phone's memory? How do I access that?
     
  4. natsu

    natsu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    4
    If you look in the url bar in the image, the folder these are in is called Media.

    So look for a folder on your sd card called Media. Inside of that is audio, inside of that are those three folders.

    If you don't have that, just create them all and the phone should recognize what you're doing.

    SD
    >Media
    >>Audio
    >>>alarms
    >>>notifications
    >>>ringtones
     
  5. Bruce_205

    Bruce_205 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ohhhh. Ok. It works now. Thanks!

    I didn't have to do that originally. I just dumped the MP3 into the card in a folder called "transfers" and the phone was able to set it as the ringtone. I wonder if this is due to the OTA update?
     
  6. juggalizyo

    juggalizyo Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you so much for the help I knew it was probably an easy fix. Sometimes these things can make you feel really dumb. thanks though
     

Share This Page

Loading...