1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Setting Profiles


Last Updated:

  1. ttaylor0024

    ttaylor0024 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    188
    Location based rules dont work. I have GPS checked, and starred but it wont find me. I open up google maps and cell tower triangulation completely sucks. 10 miles off. Now the real question is; Is the dev working on this problem? Should I buy it and hope it gets fixed? The app has alot of potential, but it needs its location fixed bad...

    EDIT: Just sent an email to the dev....
     

    Advertisement
  2. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    146
    It doesn't use GPS at all, only the coarse location. Double-tap on the map to set your location and use Lat/Long, it should work fine.

    I have the same issue with the cell-tower thing. According to the app, there's only one T-Mobile celltower in all of Greater Houston. lol Don't know what the deal is with that, but then I stopped using the celltower ID option.
     
  3. ttaylor0024

    ttaylor0024 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    188
    The location thing with double tap doesnt work at all for me. It says im 10 miles off to the east, or 5 to the west. I am hoping this will be implemented in the future. So the only other option is wifi?
     
  4. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    146
    To be perfectly frank, I don't think you're doing it correctly.

    Go to Locations, Menu, Add Location, select Lat/Long, then when the map opens drag it to where you want to set the location and doubletap. You should get a little green dot where you've set it. Then save as Lat/Long.
     
  5. ttaylor0024

    ttaylor0024 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    188
    I have done that. and saved it. Nothing :(
     
  6. liorv

    liorv New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bring it to your service provider and have it check. Maybe they have the solution for it.
     
  7. gizbug

    gizbug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    4
    For my HOME location, should I be using WIFI to find the location or the Lat/Long?
    Sometimes I am in my basement, and the gps looses signal.
     
  8. MarkHirt

    MarkHirt Guest

    The program does not use GPS for location, it uses cell towers. That said if you have home WiFi it will be more accurate anyway
     
  9. ETMegabyte

    ETMegabyte Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Does anybody know how to set the priority for the rules? I have (for instance) 2 rules set up. One is for when I'm home, and a second is for when the battery is below 20%. Is there a way to make the 20% rule be a higher priority than the home profile? Meaning if I'm at home, and the battery falls below 20%, switch to the low battery profile?

    I ran into this in a way I can test. I have a home profile and a car dock profile. I have tested this and can reproduce it. I'm at home, so the home profile exists. My home profile is based on a lat/long (which is interesting in that my lat/long when at home on the network extender puts me in New York, while I'm actually in NH, but that's a different problem), but if I put it in my car dock, it stays on the home profile...

    I'd like to be able to set a priority for rules, in case more than one rule applies. My low battery rule should be highest priority, overshadowing all other rules (for power saving), then my car dock rule, then my home profile... So far I cannot find a way to make this happen or define which rules are more important than others...

    Any help on this would be appreciated!
     
  10. brykins

    brykins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    77
    Considering location based profiles eat up battery by requiring you to have GPS on, why not try Volume Control by Revosolutionary Software? Great little volume control app that also has the facility to create three profiles. I have silent, loud and vibrate and takes seconds to change them.
     
  11. MarkHirt

    MarkHirt Guest

    The software does not use GPS for location

    While your choice may only take seconds (so does doing it manually) Setting Profiles will do it for you, which in my opinion is better.
     
  12. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    146
    Location based profiles don't use GPS at all.
     

Share This Page

Loading...