SGS, gone slow...also baseband info?Support


Last Updated:

  1. mike-evans

    mike-evans Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, had my Galaxy S approx 1 month now and found it to have gone a little slow and not as responsive...any ideas why? My mate has just got himself one, and I noticed a few different things, his came with "Task manager" where as I had to download "Advanced task manager" to kills the running apps.....He seems to have different installed apps as standard than mine, when his phone is locked and you press it to unlock it shoes flashing arrows and say slide to unlock, mine is different and jusy says phone locked, just little things like that. I noticed our Firewares are both on "2.1-update1". but his baseband is I9000DXJM1 and mine is I9000XXJF3 would that be why his layout and apps are different? how do I update my baseband?
     

    Advertisement
  2. mike-evans

    mike-evans Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone........
     
  3. M22RDY

    M22RDY Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Have you downloaded and installed Kies 1.5.1, when you connect the phone via USB it will automatically download an update, within Kies there is an option to check for available updates.

    At the bottom right there is a "FIRMWARE UPDATE" that will download the latest version to your phone. I have heard that your phone needs to be rooted to get an update but I haven't tried it yet.
     
  4. mike-evans

    mike-evans Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    My computer is out of action, can it be updated through the phone? What does "rooted" maen? Is my version of baseband an old version?
     
  5. M22RDY

    M22RDY Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Rooting basically gives you super user access to your phone. There are restrictions that stock phones don't allow you access to and this would remove the restrictions.

    I'm sure there is a way to download an updated Firmware but you'll need to load it onto an external memory card.
     
  6. stylelite

    stylelite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    33
    Hi every one, I found the following on XDA developers, so I thought I would post it here to help every one who is having trouble updating from JF3. This worked for me

    From what I have gathered on other forums (XDA Developers) its all to do with how your device is identifed in its product code.

    I bought my Galaxy S sim free from Carphone Warehouse and I get the same "can't be upgraded" and "is already up to date" from Kies. Others on XXJF3 have however been able to update to the JM1 build through Kies.

    It seems that the updated build has only been issued for "stock" ROMs. Despite buying SIM free from Carphone Warehouse my device seems to be treated as provider ROM.

    There are two ways of checking what the "product code" is. On your device use the code *#272*HHmm# (where HHmm is the current time in 24hr format that your device is displaying. Mine says the product code is CPW (which obviously means Carphone Warehouse is being treated a provider build). Others have seen things like VDI (vodafone ireland), ORA (orange) and so on.

    It seems (again from the other forums) that the stock ROMs have a product code ending in XEU (for UK - sorry I don't know the full set - go the XDA Developer forum for Galaxy S and search).

    The other way to check apparently (which I haven't tried yet) is to fire up Kies, connect the Galaxy, then before doing anything else go into the Registry Editor and look for the following key:
    HKey_current_user\Software\Samsun\Kies\DeviceDB\12​
    Note the number at the end could be anything so you will need to look through

    This key you are looking for will contain the following value:
    "Product Code"= "GT-I9000KHDCPW"​
    The CPW bit is the key information (at least for my device).

    As this is an HKey_current _user setting it is only there when Kies is running and the device connected.

    Now apparently (and I don't know whether this works), if you change the registry entry to the value GT-I9000HKDXEU (again only for UK) and close the registry and then try the firmware update (all while still running Kies ovbviously), Kies will now think you have a stock ROM and offer the ROM upgrade to JM1.

    I will try this when I get a chance and feed back if it works. But at least it may offer an explanation and/or workaround.

    UK I9000 official firmware upgrade - Page 19 - xda-developers

    I followed this and was able to update my firmware from JF3 to JM1. You don't need Root for this to work.

    full thread here http://androidforums.com/samsung-galaxy-s/150891-help-cannot-update-firmware-via-kies.html

    Let me know how you get on. If you need any help PM me and I will do my best to help
     
  7. mike-evans

    mike-evans Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info. I really have no idea when it comes to all this phone stuff....with my computer out of order, can I simply update it throguh my phone? Is there a simple way for me to do it as I do not understand most of the posts....
     
  8. M22RDY

    M22RDY Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    In respect of Stylelite's guide to upgrading it, I too received a provider rom, and again from the CPW. I received the same message that there wasn't an update available. But when I completed the guide, it told me there was no update available as I was already at JM1 (Bonus)?

    Thus, although i'm up to date, if I weren't I've a sneaky feeling that it would work.
     
  9. stylelite

    stylelite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    33
    Hi, every time you want to check for updates using kies, you will have to do the registry again because at the moment there is no way to make it permanent.
    I checked a few days ago to see if there was another update and it came up with JPC, which is I believe a beta version of froyo, I didn't do this update because Samsung should release the full version of froyo at the end of this month.
     
  10. stylelite

    stylelite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    33
    Im not to sure if you can update through the phone. A good place to look is XDA developers.com, I'm sure some one there will be able to answer that for you.
    Do you not have access to another PC? if you have you can do the update from that one. download and install kies, print the guide out first and follow it step by step.
    Do you know what firmware version your phone is on? to find out do the following: tap on phone to bring up the dial pad and enter *#1234# you should now see the version screen, you should have:
    PDA: I9000XX***
    PHONE: I9000XX***
    CSC: I9000XX***
    It's the last 3 letters that give you your firmware version ie JF3 ect

    You can also do the following to see if you phone is locked to a network *#7465625# this will bring up a screen with a list, look down the list until you see network lock, it will say on or off, if it's off that's good and means you can use your phone on any network.
     
  11. mike-evans

    mike-evans Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0

    *#7465625# came up with a list of locks and they all said "off"

    *#1234# came up with

    PDA: I9000XXJF3
    PHONE: I9000XXJF3
    CSC: I9000XXAJF3

    does that mean it's the old version?
    My phone is doing my head in now, it goes non responsive and freezes sometimes!!
     
  12. stylelite

    stylelite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    33
    Hi mike-evens,
    all locks off that's good.
    JF3 seems to be the firmware that most of these phones shipped with. The update via kies is a newer firmware version JM1. I updated to this about 2 weeks ago and the phone is much better, I had problems with the WiFi randomly turning itself on, JM1 seems to have sorted it out.

    If your phone is freezing and none responsive, I would suggest doing a factory reset, but be for you do, make sure you back up all your contacts, photos, music,any apps if you can, ect as the reset will wipe all data.
    To do a factory reset>settings>Privacy>Factory data reset

    If you can I would go for the JM1 update via kies or just wait for the update to Froyo at the end of this month, either way you will need to have a PC with kies installed to do either of these.
     

Share This Page

Loading...