ShadowRom In Rom Manager.


Last Updated:

  1. Mean Sixteen

    Mean Sixteen Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I just noticed a new Rom in the premium section of Rom Manager.

    ShadowRom!!!

    cool name if that means anything ;)

    I have googled it and can't find anything on it except perhaps at XDA but there site appears to be down so I can't check.

    If anyone can share what might be known about it I think myself and others would be very interested.

    I will probably flash it anytime now just to find out for myself.

    If so I will update.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Droidizzle

    Droidizzle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    38
    I got to read about it earlier today. Its stock based but with CM6 parts added to it?? So pretty much stock froyo with the CM6 theme settings I am guessing.
     
    GrandMasterB likes this.
  3. Mean Sixteen

    Mean Sixteen Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the fast reply.

    Sounds interesting.

    Any info on the Dev?
     
  4. Droidizzle

    Droidizzle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    38
    Nah kinda new to the game, so I only know the backgrounds of "regular" devs.
     
  5. Mean Sixteen

    Mean Sixteen Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like me.

    Downloading this now. We will see how it goes.

    (crossing fingers)
     
  6. Droidizzle

    Droidizzle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    38
    If its on ROM Manager it should be good. I don't see Koush allowing a moron to attach something to his product.
     
  7. Mean Sixteen

    Mean Sixteen Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    And that, my friend, is why I am flashing it as we speak.

    Usually I will investigate quite a bit before jumping in.

    But if it is allowed in Rom Manager, especially in Premium downloads, then I feel confident.

    Edit: Bootlooping now

    2nd Edit: Installed stock Kernel and it is loading now.

    Final Edit: Loaded but my touchscreen is totally unresponsive so I can't even start the setup. My trackball can highlight "emergency dial" and "Change Language" but I can't select anything at all. Did battery pull but no change.

    Anyone have any ideas?
     
  8. Weazol

    Weazol Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    142
  9. Mean Sixteen

    Mean Sixteen Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. welbinator

    welbinator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    44
    well I'm running it now and it seems pretty cool. I wish I could change the buttons on the launcher though, I dont like the stock dialer and with CM6 I can replaced the dialer in the launcher with my dialer one app. I'll probably go back to CM6 after a day or two but I'll check this one out for a bit.

    cant tell if GPS is working. It seems to know where I am right now, and it has a route mapped out for how to get home but it still says searching for GPS... on the bottom. the GPS icon is active in the notification bar.

    camera/camcorder work. although no 720p.

    update, when i open the camera, and then hit the power button to lock the phone/shut screen off, when I wake the phone again the camera force closes. it happened 2 out of 4 tries.

    don't have any bluetooth devices to test. 3G seems to work fine, all my previous apps were restored, browser works fine.

    has some pretty sweet power control widget settings.

    this seems like a very solid ROM. if they give me some options on launcher I would consider sticking with this one. but I will probably go back to CM6 soon.

    also flash player version is 10.1.92.10 which I believe is most up to date flash.
     
  11. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    hmmm going to flash this rom right now
     
  12. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    Any feedback Jimbo? :)
     
  13. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    I have it downloaded I haven't done a titanium restore yet and probably won't be able to play with it much till this evening.

    But the phone seems super fast I installed setcpu and quadrant standard and on the stock 998mhz it pulled 1350 the first run and 1466 on the second. I tried to run 1.15 but like always my phone won't do it ha. Wish I could set the CPU to run between 1ghz and 1.15 . 1.113 seems to be my phones sweet spot.

    I have tested that WiFi works , this Incredible is nolonger an active phone so I can't test 3g (witch my phone doesn't have anyways) or phone operations. But so far so good on this ROM . I'll test BT audio when I leave work

    EDIT ::
    With the new AOSP Kernal from King , I was able to hit 1800 Quadrant at 1.113ghz by far the fastest combo I've used
     
    GrandMasterB likes this.
  14. jbeezybaby

    jbeezybaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    3
    It was too late to start last night when I saw this but Im flashing it now...
     
  15. jbeezybaby

    jbeezybaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    3
    Everything seems to be smooth. The main difference I see is that my signal is now virtually nonexistent. -101. No 3g at my house. I will test it when I go out later. Any suggestions that anyone has to improve this that may have had the same problem are welcome.
     
  16. chilangoblanco

    chilangoblanco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    I flashed this yesterday. I liked all the same settings that CM6 has. Unfortunately, this ROM made my phone a little slower than Ruby and it froze up on me a few times. It also made it so the screen wouldn't come on when I pressed the unlock button. I had to restore to Ruby 1.1.1, which I have been using for a few days. I like it and it's way smooth. I do miss the CM 6 settings. I'm just waiting for the next CM 6 release and then I'll probably switch to that. ShadowROM has some great potential though!
     
  17. GideonX

    GideonX Guest

    Anyone seeing wifi/screen wake up issues?
     
  18. jbeezybaby

    jbeezybaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    3

    Update - 3g works fine outside the house. Not a issue while im home anyway because I use Y5 to connect to wifi as soon as I get home. :D Everything else seems to be smooth as butter. Now Im torn between Shadow, Ruby and Cyanogen...... When all these are smoothed out completly I dont know what I will do... lol. I can say one thing, Sense is out.
     
    GrandMasterB likes this.
  19. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    So got to test Bluetooth and it works flawlessly for audio, the controls on the bluetooth unit it self also work so I can stop , pause and skip songs . Pretty slick, camera works , camcorder works so does zoom and light. I haven't seen any problems with this ROM and on top of the 1800 Quadrant at 1.113mhz this ROM is a winner. I get my new Incredible tomorrow I"ll root it and flash this ROM and test out mobile data and gps .
     
    GrandMasterB likes this.
  20. Hitmanthe3rd

    Hitmanthe3rd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is this OFFICIAL Vanilla? like CM6?
     
  21. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    Yes, I actually think it's based of CM6
     
  22. DonDraper

    DonDraper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    30
    Doesn't mount internal memory, and already talks of reboots
     
  23. Droidizzle

    Droidizzle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    38
    I think the xda post says its sense with roise removed and CM6 added. I could be wrong though.
     
  24. DonDraper

    DonDraper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    30
    You are definitely wrong. It's AOSP based. Sense never touched it.
     
  25. Droidizzle

    Droidizzle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    38
    Uh yes I am.... reading makes me smarter:eek:
     

Share This Page

Loading...