Sholes SM Updater


Last Updated:

  1. jamo

    jamo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    39
    Has anyone use the Sholes Updater App on the Market. Now that 2.1 is delayed, I want to root, but I'd like to make sure that it works before I commit. Anyone try this yet? :p
     

    Advertisement
  2. Branndon

    Branndon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    30
    yes, a lot of us, me for the first time yesterday, works great.
     
  3. raginghamster

    raginghamster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just used it last night- quick and painless! And you can really see the difference with a faster oc
     
  4. Timaphillips

    Timaphillips Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    14
    Super easy. In fact, I've gone back and reinstalled the ROM a few times to try out different theme's. Also, it's very stable for me at 1000 mhz.
     
  5. gnmitchell

    gnmitchell Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    I definitely would recommend it. It's very easy to do. Make sure to uncheck the facebook option when you get there. If you leave it checked there has been problems with people getting a FC when trying to access accounts & sync if facebook not installed
     
  6. Timaphillips

    Timaphillips Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    14
    No FB problems for me. Although I did forget to remove the IM client. The smoked glass 2.1 theme is great.
     
  7. jamo

    jamo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    39
    Thanks for the responses. Does the updater automatically back-up with nandroid? I'm not really worried about bricking, because I have insurance, but I'd just hate to have to go through the hassle of getting my phone back to its previous state if there's no backup.
     
  8. gnmitchell

    gnmitchell Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes it does a nandroid backup for you. It also has an unroot option as well just in case you needed to.
     
  9. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    One you use the Sholes Updater you won't even pay serious attention to all the 2.1 news and hype.
     
  10. itype2slo

    itype2slo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    15
    Agreed!
     
  11. Ivan1670

    Ivan1670 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did they fix the Maps issue, and do you get more than three home screens?
     
  12. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    Yes, the maps are working great (new 4.0 version) and yes you have 5 screens (it is great not to have to deal with a home replacement for the extra real estate).
     
  13. acr89

    acr89 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    SM Updater is awesome. Definitely buy the $5 donate version rather than downloading for free.
     
  14. SinfulDragon

    SinfulDragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    36
    used it yesterday, worked great, went to 2.0.3 running 1Ghz at over 50% bat then steps down to 550

    easy to use, and the unroot option is cool to have JIC
     
  15. acr89

    acr89 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    Has anyone else noticed that when you scroll in the browser that text appears pixelated until you stop scrolling and wait a second or so?
     
  16. slick_old

    slick_old Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    10
    Yes, I noticed that too.
     
  17. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    The Milestone browser turns of anti aliasing when you scroll, to free up resources and make scrolling smoother.

    Then once you've settled on a location, it turns it back on.

    I don't really mind it, and if it makes the phone more efficient, I'm all for it.
     
  18. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    Does the shoeless rom block ota updates
     
  19. jamo

    jamo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    39
    Alright, I rooted with Sholes, but then chickened out and went back to stock. I was just nervous because I didn't really know what was going on. My phone was running slow, and I couldn't figure out what the Home and Launcher options were; I was just waiting for my phone to go blank and quit working. Again, I was a chicken. I still have the Updater and ROM on my phone, I might try again sometime. What is the 2.1 Launcher, and why do I want it? Also, can someone post their CPU profile so I can have an idea what to set mine to?
     
  20. Ninthwonder

    Ninthwonder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    1
    I run my setCPU like this

    Max 1000
    Min 250
    CPU Govenor : Userspace

    Profiles:
    Charging
    Max 550
    Min 250

    Sleep/Standby
    Max 250
    Min 250

    Power < 40%
    Max 550
    Min 250

    Battery > 40%
    Max 550
    Min 250
     
  21. SinfulDragon

    SinfulDragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    36
    charging
    800/250

    sleep standby
    250/125

    Power <50%
    550/125
     
  22. DjSmooth

    DjSmooth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Murnin Folks, just wondering about something, since I updated with this Sholes Mod, I get a lot of "Force Close" on the Launcher, and when I cycle though pages thats when they usually come up with the FC. And if I tap the Home Soft key I get the background for about - seconds than the Icons appear. Has anyone else experience his and if so do you have a fix. Thanks!
     
  23. SinfulDragon

    SinfulDragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    36
    I don't use the Launcher, I use Home++. No FC issues here.

    If you use the normal Home do you get the FC?
     
  24. DjSmooth

    DjSmooth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll give both of them a once around and report back, thanks for the speedy response...
     
  25. slick_old

    slick_old Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    10
    When you flash the rom, uncheck the option to install the launcher. It is very unstable. The default launcher on sholes 2.03 includes 5 screens and it is very smooth (no FC's)
     

Share This Page

Loading...