Sholes to Bugless Beast


Last Updated:

  1. l3rian

    l3rian Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    I rooted my phone using SMupdater and was wondering the easiest way to switch to the Bugless beast ROM?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Download the BB update.zip, put it on the root of your sdcard

    Restart your phone in recovery (hold 'X' while you power it up)

    Navigate down to install using volume keys for up/down, camera to select

    select allow update.zip

    select update.zip

    DISCLAIMER: make a nandroid backup first, always!
     
  3. l3rian

    l3rian Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    thank you sir
     
  4. SirVilhelm

    SirVilhelm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    3
    I tried the update.zip method when I first rooted my phone. I had a lot of FC issues and laggy-ness. I then did the nandroid restore method (totally formats phone) and all my issues were gone. I would always recommend a fresh start when going between roms. Just my 2 cents
     
  5. aguillon5

    aguillon5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    3
    where do I find nandroid? Is it hard to run or is it automatic?
     
  6. Decus22

    Decus22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    13
    Nandroid is part of the SPrecovery. you use it or should be using it before you do anything new to your phone. To get there reboot to recovery and slect backup/restore:D
     
  7. aguillon5

    aguillon5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks!
     
  8. brd

    brd Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    when you do this, is there a way to save the sholes rom, so that i can switch back if i want, or is it necessary to redownload that?

    also, for the nandroid restore method that sir vilhelm describes, could someone describe that in a little more detail? is that making a backup after installing bb and then restoring to that backup?
     
  9. vry5

    vry5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    can I ask a stupid question? what is the advantage of beast over sholes? sholes seems to be running very smooth, with the animated 2.1 ap drawer, now that I've ditched home ++.
    it seems a loir of you like beast more, why?
     
  10. shademar

    shademar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    4
    I tried running both, and found beast to be a bit more stable. I also liked the modified theme (darker smoked glass, no blue on the app drawer press) a bit better. Right now, it may just come down to aesthetics and ease of install for most people.

    I actually run home++ on top of beast (I love the glass tab look, but I love the power bar functionality even more) and it's been really solid. Pete put in a patcher for the arc-style old lockscreen, which I also love, and sholes has a similar option. I see the whole rom situation as very fluid, as opposed to there being a clear choice. Sholes and BB are both updating about every other day, so who knows when features will crop up on one and not the other. Luckily, it's an easy switch. :D
     
  11. brd

    brd Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    always more questions from this noob. i followed these instructions, and everything came off without a hitch. first impressions are that everything is smoother, altho i miss some of the custom widgets and ways that sholes set up the home screen, and also all of the app wipe/add features that sholes had, and the fact that bb doesnt come with a native tether app (most of these issues are my own laziness).
    another issue that came up is that when i went to setcpu i couldnt increase the max past 550, even after trying to autoselect device and refresh. then, when i went to system info i was surprised to see that it has the hardware listed as sholes.
    anyone have any thoughts on either of these things?
     
  12. darrin2520

    darrin2520 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    6
    So are you saying that under about phone it is listing your Build Number as a Sholes build? If so, I would think that somehow you just installed another version of Sholes.

    It will wipe your phone, but I do think that the Nandroid backup method is a bit cleaner way to switch ROM's. I was a little miffed, but depending on what you have on your phone, your stuff is generally saved on Googles servers, ie Calendar, Contacts, Gmail, etc. In addition, any app you bought is tied to your hardware and you can re-download it at any time.

    The one thing that did stay on my phone when I went from Shules to BB was the wifi tethering. lol
     
  13. brd

    brd Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    i should have been more specific. in setpcu under the system info tab the hardware is listed as sholes. maybe this is just because that's what it was when it downloaded. in the phone info menu that you mentioned it is listed as bugless beast.
    and now i'm even more confused about the tethering question.
    anyone have tips on where to get a good tether app and how to get setpcu to increase the oc?



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page

Loading...