1. Welcome to the newer, better version of Android Forums! Be sure to see the announcement and enjoy checking it out!

Some of you have been having login issues. - Please try now. Sorry for the trouble!
  2. All attachments uploaded on the first day of this new look need to be re-uploaded, or will appear broken. All prior to that, and all going forward, should work fine. We apologize for the inconvenience!

Should I buy a Samsung Galaxy tab 2 7.0?

1. Markus843

Markus843 Member

I am in market to buy a tablet at the moment, have a rain-check receipt to guarantee the 100$ discount, currently $150 if I wanted to buy it right now. Is there an update coming soon for a Samsung galaxy tab 3 7.0? Also, I want to get android 4.1 or 4.2, is it possible with the samsung galaxy tab 2 7.0 with android 4.0 icecream sandwich?

Total noob at tablets, but if/when a later version of android comes out, is it free to download? Or do I have to get another tablet in order to get the update?

Advertisement
  2. lynnwilliam

lynnwilliam Well-Known Member

I would suggest galaxy 2 7.0. The tab 3 release date is no way near.
    Markus843 likes this.
  3. Markus843

Markus843 Member

Thanks for the reply, hope you're right. Do you know when the samsung galaxy tab 2 7.0 came out?
    thanks
  4. El Presidente

El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate! VIP Member

The Galaxy Tab 2 came out in August iirc. Not sure about when/if it will get 4.1/4.2, but Samsung have been ok with updates as of late.

However, I'd go for the Nexus 7 tbh, similarly specced, cheaper and you're guaranteed updates as soon as they're available. :)

Updates will also be free too (you never pay for OS updates on Android).
    Markus843 likes this.
  5. Markus843

Markus843 Member