Should I pay $45 to root??


Last Updated:

  1. marshall518

    marshall518 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    5
    I don't know much about rooting, I'm just sick of this slow "updated" hero. I ran into a guy that can root my phone, wireless tether, overclock and fancy widgets for 45bucks. Is this worth it? What is the best OS/rom for just a normal phone user? He asked if I want CM6 or Sapphire.
    Please give me your input, might be doing this tomorrow!​
     

    Advertisement
  2. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    First I'll say that no, it's not worth it because all this is easy to do.

    With that being said, if you definately wont do it yourself, then yes. You might as well pay to get it done.
    I guess it's like paying a mechaninc a crazy amount to fix your car. You dont really have a choice, so you pay.

    I would say to not worry so much about which rom he puts on because it's VERY easy for you to switch roms... if you're willing to give it a shot.
    Many members here will walk you right through it once your phone is rooted.

    Good luck
     
    marshall518 likes this.
  3. Little Darwin

    Little Darwin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    37
    Rooting is easy if you follow the directions... A single click after downloading the hack roots the phone.

    Does the person doing the work guarantee not to brick the phone?

    Rooting and flashing should take under an hour... If you are uncomfortable, it may be worth it to you, and $45 seems reasonable. However, doing it yourself is pretty easy... the hardest part is choosing a ROM. I used CM6, and I am happy with it.
     
  4. marshall518

    marshall518 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks for the replay!

    He was making it sound really hard. He said a lot of work in msdos and terminal emulator. What OS should I go with if I do this myself?​
     
  5. marshall518

    marshall518 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    5
    How do i find the download for CM6? What are all the other things he was talking about wireless tether, overclock ?
     
  6. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    NOOOOO -don't pay - it is seriously this easy -

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QPB2itfpPqE

    XDA web site is where most links to ROMS cans be found.
    I recommend starting with InFinites NFX rom - (it is basically sense stock) but comes with wireless tether etc. Then get comfortable flashing things like Gapps and VVM and go crazy!!!!
     
    marshall518 likes this.
  7. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    someones trying to rip you off. trust me when i say that if i could do it, its not hard at all. everything you need to do it can be found on this website. If something is unclear to you, ask about it. Id say a majority of the people that post on here, learned how to do it on here by someone helping them out... no reason you cant also
     
  8. marshall518

    marshall518 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm going to give this a shot in the am. So I need to root first then install a rom? Can anyone post a link for how to root a 2.1 update1 and install a good rom?
     
  9. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    That is correct, root is the first process, then once rooted you need to make sure you do a Nandroid Backup, then you can start to play with custom Roms, and if you have issues with the Roms, you simply restore your back up and you are back where you started from, Mahalocat posted the video for the one click, you can get both the one click root and the Rom manger from the market, simply go to your market and search for both they will come up. You can also google root HTC Hero and you will see a bunch of stuff you can read up on, I suggest you do a little readying to be familiar with the process and then once done you will have a better grasp of what you are doing, good luck and enjoy. :cool:

    One Click Root HERE

    Rom Manager HERE

    FYI this coming from a guy that hasn't rooted yet, LOL



     
  10. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Are you going to pay the guy when something happens and you are not sure what to do? Like DonB wrote, do some research first and if have any questions or run into any problems, let us know. Plenty of helpful people here:)
     
  11. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    +1

    If you let him do all the work, if somethign goes wrong you wont have any idea what to do.

    If you do it yourself, you will understand how to do nandroids, flash zip files, etc, etc...
     
  12. marshall518

    marshall518 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    5
    Got the rom manger, but the one click root isn't working anymore. I've tried searching the market and using the below link, but no go. Anyone else have any suggestions?​

     
  13. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
  14. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    I just used the link - You may have to refresh the screen - But do it on you PC -
    You will see a bar code - Scan it and it will download the file to you SD card.
     
  15. marshall518

    marshall518 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    5
    Guys. I have the app on my SD card and running the root. It starts giving me ok 5 times then says installing toolkit. Then failed ! No~~~Fu goo~~~ popsup. What I'm I doing wrong? Should I be checking the generate log in /sdcard?

     
  16. marshall518

    marshall518 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    5
    Wow guys, I finial got it rooted from this Universal 1 click. I took a lot of time (me being a rookie) trying to get this to work. The one click wasn​
     
  17. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    NP bro enjoy, now make sure you make a Nandroid backup, then you can play with all the different Roms, Happy phone playing!!


     
  18. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
     
  19. marshall518

    marshall518 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    5
    I did a backup In Rom manager, is this what you guys are calling nandroid backup? It took around 10min. I followed the instructions from rom manager. I did this right after the root. Is this what o needed to do?


     
  20. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    If something goes wrong when flashing a new CDMA rom, you could always flash back to that nandroid of the stock rom. Your phone will be as you left it when you made the nandroid
     
  21. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Yes, and keep in mind the more backups you have the larger SD card you will need, LOL


     
    marshall518 likes this.
  22. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    Haha! Someone wants $45.00 to root your Sprint HTC Hero? Heck, I will do it for half that, man. It would be my pleasure. ;)

    Seriously though, you can easily do it yourself. There are so many easy methods to choose from. I would personally go with the Universal One-Click rooting method. If you are feeling adventurous, then you can try the old fashioned way with the Android SDK! :)
     
  23. marshall518

    marshall518 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    5
    Sounds like a repeated question, but I just want to be clear and ready to experiment with different roms. If I did a backup with the rom manager that is what people are calling the nandroid backup? If I keep a copy of that on my PC and anything happens I could put it on my SD card and flash my hero back to how it is right now?​
    [FONT=MS Mincho,
     
  24. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
     
    marshall518 likes this.
  25. marshall518

    marshall518 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    5
    I see, thanks for the info. I played with loading a rom yesterday; again rookie question is this called flashing? It was this one (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=733256) because it looked really cool to me. After getting it loaded and playing with it, found I have to setup everything again like, email accounts, bookmarks, twitter, apps, etc. I didn​
     

Share This Page

Loading...