Should I root even though I have HTC ROM?


Last Updated:

  1. paulcooper

    paulcooper Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    9
    I read a lot about rooting and the ability to remove all the extras installed by the network, but I have a stock HTC rom froyo 2.2 so I am thinking do I really need to root to get rid of the extras.......

    I think not!

    Please tell me otherwise.

    What are the other benefits?

    thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. williamj1

    williamj1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    214
    To get rid of the stock apps you do need to root. But rooting itself is pretty simple - if you use unrevoked3, its more or less a 1 click 1 minute process. Rooting only gets tricky when you start flashing roms etc, but if ur happy with the HTC stock rom then this is irrelevant.

    Other benefits:

    - apps2sd
    - ability to flash custom roms
    - do other things previously restricted like overclock the processor, do full backups
    - basically customize whatever you want.
     
  3. paulcooper

    paulcooper Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    9
    Just ran unrevoked3 and apparently it is rooted......
    thanks for this i may now have a play!!
     
  4. turbohobbit

    turbohobbit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    19
    Another noob question here... I have debranded using the Teppic method, and have dumped my Orange locked-down ROM in favour of the generic HTC one (2.10.405.2). If I root now using unrevoked3, will I then have to reinstall the ROM, or will the rooting be done "on top" so to speak? If it's a one-minute job, I may have a gander at that...
     
  5. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    Rooting is added to the ROM, you won't lose any data unless you obviously flash a new ROM
     
  6. turbohobbit

    turbohobbit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    19
    But I guess it's worth doing as it gives me the freedom to tinker more with the phone? Add Apps2SD+, etc?
     

Share This Page

Loading...