Should I Root?

Last Updated:

1. Brian Rubin

Brian Rubin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Hey kids, how y'all doin'? I'm writing because I'm new to the EVO and Android in general, and I keep reading about the benefits of rooting the phone, even though I know little about it.

I'm wary of modifying the phone, but it sounds like a lot of folks are pleased with the results, so I guess my question is, if I want the most out of my awesome phone (and I do love it), should I root it, or should I leave well enough alone?

Thanks in advance for your opinions and advice. :)

Advertisement
  2. thumperyz69

thumperyz69 Well-Known Member

You will have to make the decision. If you read through some of these posts. A lot of what you are asking has already been answered. Please read the sticky in the Root section here.

And also here

[GUIDE] How to root Android 2.2 on the EVO 4G - xda-developers

There is even a Youtube video to how to root.

Good luck

3. t0ast3d

t0ast3d Well-Known Member

If you want the full potential of your phone, yes.

4. novox77

novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

The sticky thread has lots of good info for people new to rooting, written for people who need to learn the basics. Go study that for a while, and if you have more questions not covered there, feel free to ask.

5. Hazy

Hazy Well-Known Member

+1 totally agree

6. eric3316

eric3316 Well-Known Member

A simple answer to your question is yes. The EVO performs much better once rooted and the FPS are uncapped not to mention all the other benifits you will have.

7. Brian Rubin

Yeah, I've been reading about the benefits, but I'm always wary of modifying this stuff, and one thing I can't find info on is the risks. What might the risks be in rooting my EVO?

8. novox77

novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member