Should I wipe battery stats when changing batteries?


Last Updated:

  1. Sixxx

    Sixxx Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    18
    I have a 2000mah in my Hero now, changed it yesterday from the stock 1500, I thought about wiping the stats but i didn't know what that does and if i should or not, so what's the deal?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Yes, but if you don't do it the first time, it's not a big deal.

    Boot into recovery and wipe the battery stats when you have a FULL battery. MAKE SURE that you don't plug it in again until the battery is 100% dead (i.e. the phone turns itself off).

    Essentially this will calibrate everything so that the phone recognizes you have more than just a 1500 battery in the phone.
     
  3. Sixxx

    Sixxx Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    18
    I wish i had known this before I did the damn battery test that i'm in the middle of right now. Guess i'll just do it again while i'm sleeping or something.
     
  4. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    You'll be fine for the test. Not calibrating the battery shouldn't wreck any havoc on the tests that you are doing (it'll just show the percentage incorrectly). It won't change the amount of battery that you actually have.
     
  5. Sixxx

    Sixxx Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    18
    I know I just wanted to have to not have to kill the battery all the way
     

Share This Page

Loading...