Should we have done a factory reset prior to Upgrading to 2.1?


Last Updated:

  1. scottmbolt

    scottmbolt Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    47
    Over on Sprint's Facebook page, there is some guy lurking around commenting on all of the angry posters who are complaining that the update has caused many problems. He is saying that we should have all done a factory reset, and than went ahead with the upgrade.

    Is this true, or is this dude just blowing smoke up our asses? It doesn't make sense, how would a reset affect the upgrade? The only difference would be the phone getting the upgrade with a bunch of apps installed and a bunch of tweaks done, vs. having a fresh phone.

    Experts chime in, and also chime in if you wiped your phone prior to the 2.1 upgrade.
     

    Advertisement
  2. kjw002

    kjw002 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would hope this was not the case, but with all the issues we are seeing it may not hurt to have reset before or maybe after the up date.

    I may try it soon.
     
  3. Hemlox

    Hemlox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    10
    I updated without doing a reset and my phone runs flawlessly, no problems at all.
     
  4. Wiskid

    Wiskid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    5
    If that would have been a critical part in the process, it would have been in the directions. It was not. Probably just some dink trying to cause a ruckus in the Android world.
     
  5. dsavage

    dsavage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    21
    The 2.1 RUU upgrade is a factory reset/wipe of your phone.
     
    phatmamaslim likes this.
  6. gTwizzel

    gTwizzel Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    same here, went from Fresh 2.0d, and I didn't back track to 1.5 OS, runs a lot faster and no problems. Just reboot your phone a few times. Sucks no live wall paper and no 3D photo album, but I'm getting off the subject.
     
  7. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    This is correct
     
  8. DaWeav

    DaWeav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    53
    I don't know about any logic to it either.

    However, I did perform a factory reset on 1.5 just prior to upgrading to 2.1, and then I did a factory reset on 2.1 after it first booted. But, I really don't think it accomplished anything what-so-ever since I'm experiencing some of the same issues (especially bluetooth related) that everyone else seems to be having. No conspiracy here just a lot of 'smoke' if you ask me.
     
  9. jeffreynothing43

    jeffreynothing43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    5
    hey guys/gals...i don't like when ppl chime in with nothing helpful, but i felt compelled to add in my 2cents. i am rooted and flashed the release to see what is up - and these problems are consistent any way you look at. sprint messed up BAD with this rom. it is essentially worthless. turned my phone into a slow, buggy, rebooting piece of junk. so i dumped the rom. i feel bad for those who waited for this without root...it really is a disappointment.
     
  10. astrobill

    astrobill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    24
    Is this the same guy who's saying the same thing in the following thread?

    Re: * List of Issues in Sprint Hero 2.1 Android Upgrade So Far* - HTC Hero (Sprint) - Android Forums - HTC Community
     
  11. Hoos

    Hoos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    18
    I don't see how you could have "flashed the release" and then "dumped the rom". Since it's not rooted, if you "flashed the release" you're stuck with it.
     
  12. bluemark

    bluemark Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    5
    I just took the plunge and did the upgrade yesterday without doing the reset and everything seems to be running fine. I sprung for Better Keyboard for the voice to text and I'm experiencing no lag with it while typing. Voice to text is very cool. So far so good ........but we shall see. If I experience any of the problems others are having I'm planning on doing a reset\reinstall.
     
  13. KitsapAndroid

    KitsapAndroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    118
    He probably flashed the Damageless Sprint2.1.zip ROM that retains root. It's how I "upgraded" to 2.1 without losing the ability to go back to 1.5 if I so choose.
     

Share This Page

Loading...