Shutting down programs to conserve batterySupport


Last Updated:

  1. spatt

    spatt Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Anyone know how to close programs? I end up with a ton of programs running and my battery isnt lasting very long.

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
    atljatl likes this.
  2. ram100987

    ram100987 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    2
    Same here. If there isn't a way already then a dev needs to make one because my battery is low around midday.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  3. RevWillie

    RevWillie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've seen some platforms that were linux-based in the past wherein resources are automatically managed and apps that aren't being accessed on screen are hibernating in the background. I'm not sure if that is part of the android design. I would prefer to not have to explicitly close apps just to save juice or memory or cpu cycles because it's poor UI design.
     
  4. Sundog

    Sundog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    3
    You are right. If a program is "running" in the background waiting for events, for example, it isn't using ANY power at all. Where you get into trouble is with apps that use the GPS or other hardware in the background, things like that.

    They are, however, using ram, but Android cleans that up automagically.
     
  5. eli

    eli Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just out of curiosity, have you tried running the battery down until nothing (i.e. the phone shuts off) yet? Sometimes the battery metter just needs to be calibrated because it isn't sure where "empty" is.
     
  6. phuthanvinh

    phuthanvinh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    8
    have you guys tried to lowest the brightness of the screen and the set the screen off within a minute or 30 seconds? i tried and it helps but not much tho
     
  7. joephu

    joephu Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also recommend installing Anycuts and creating shortcuts to Wifi and Bluetooth if you use those often. This makes it so much easier to toggle on/off these features.
     
  8. ram100987

    ram100987 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    2
    speaking of running the battery down, my first full day with the phone the battery ran down to the point that it showed an emtpy battery with a cross through it. it was like this for around 4 hours, and even though at this point i only used it to make a couple short calls, it never actually died...
     
  9. RevWillie

    RevWillie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome Idea! I did this for quick access. Do you know if there's an easy way to change the icons for those shortcuts?
     
  10. Vivid

    Vivid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    Guys one question about anycuts.

    I have made a shortcut to WiFI and BT but can not find the right item to link to for GPS settings, I have looked "anycuts > activity > ?????" but can find the right link
     
  11. smithey

    smithey Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    To get to GPS settings go to anycut -> activity -> unlock pattern (presto - the gps settings, use wifi, and require pattern toggle switches)
     
  12. Vivid

    Vivid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    Smithey,

    thanks, got all three battery drainers on shortcuts.
     
  13. dkaufman1

    dkaufman1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    29
    Good advice on AnyCuts...I set up a GPS and Wifi shortcut to enable and disable them quickly.

    I also added a Battery shortcut which lets you see a number (% symbol missing) of your Battery Level.

    I saw where GPS uses more battery, but does wifi and 3g use more too? I would guess so, but I am not sure.

    I have disabled them and now see Edge.
     
  14. smithey

    smithey Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    vivid - no problem, just got lucky on figuring that out

    kaufman - good idea on the one shortcut for two settings, i like my desktop to be as uncluttered as possible. right now i'm going left page for apps i use a lot, middle page for dialer, messaging, contacts, and browser, and right page for settings shortcuts.
     
  15. Vivid

    Vivid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    DKaufman,

    great tip on the "wireless" link for both BT and WIFI..

    I would also like to know if there is a way to shut down both 3G and Edge, so then the only thing ur phone could transmit would be Voice and SMS/MMS... For any international roamer it would be key to turn off all data unless you wanted huge roaming data fees.
     
  16. dkaufman1

    dkaufman1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    29
    Since this seems an Anycuts thread too...Anyone know how to rename the folder?

    Smithey - I put my shortcuts in a folder to keep my desktop cleaner and would like rename them shortcuts. (FYI a second folder is still called "folder").
     
  17. Vivid

    Vivid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    DK,

    you can rename a folder by first opening the folder then push and hold the folders name, this opens a window to rename the folder
     
  18. dkaufman1

    dkaufman1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    29
    Awesome. Thanks.
     
  19. dballz

    dballz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Um fellas I can't find the Anycuts app were can I find it?
     
  20. dkaufman1

    dkaufman1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    29
    Under the pull tab at the bottom of the screen is the Icon "Market" and shopping bag. Click.

    In the Marketplace, click on Applications, Tools and scroll down.

    Then you have to go through the steps to install it.

    There is also a "search" tool if you click the "menu" key in the Market.
     
  21. Milkboot

    Milkboot Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    +1


    Really like the anycut idea. Just spent the past 5 min redoing the shortcuts on my phone :p
     
  22. introspection

    introspection Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1

    My phone has been telling me all day to day to plug it in and I still haven't. I'm trying to see how long before it actually dies.It seems to go a whole lot longer than most people think.
     
    Krlypumaa likes this.
  23. ram100987

    ram100987 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think it just does that the first time. The first time I let it run down to the point that it showed a crossed out battery it stayed like that for around 4 hours and still didn't die, but today I let it run down and it only stayed on no battery for... maybe an hour. So maybe it wasn't accurate on that first drain but now after that it has a better idea of how low the battery actually is.

    I like how it seems to limit you to 1G service when the battery is critically low though, because if your were not capable of charger it for a while, but need it for emergency calls this will make it last much longer, but it would be nice if there was a way to turn 3G back on if your not worried about extending the last drop of battery life.
     
  24. johnkzin

    johnkzin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    3
    Right now, I'm just having trouble downloading AnyCuts at all. I can't do it via wifi, I can't do it via Edge, and I can't do it via 3G (I've tried all 3 at moments when I had that sort of connection). The download starts, gives me that busy "sideways barber shop bar" look, and says "starting download" ... and that's it. Sometimes it eventually gives me a status bar error of some non-descript form, and asks me to try again.

    Kind of annoying.
     
  25. krstofer

    krstofer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does disabling those things really make that puch of a difference? I also like the uncluttered screen so my left screen only has the clock on it.

    I wish I could use one of the clocks in the alarm clock setting.
     

Share This Page

Loading...