(sigh) Airplane mode still here after official update...Support


Last Updated:

  1. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Yup... Just got the airplane mode bug after using wifi, and I'm on DE03. Oh well, guess I'll just have to start bitchin to Sprint.
     

    Advertisement
  2. ramiss

    ramiss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    55
    Well. You could always go through the red tape of replacing your phone 3 times and they might upgrade you to the EVO!

    I'm not one to condone doing this but it seems obvious that Samsung does not want to fix the issues, so apparently this is the only choice customers have.
     
  3. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    I've never done that before... ever.. but I just might. I mean, I need my phone for work, and I find myself too often switching back and forth to my TP2 if I'm expecting an important call that day. I was really holding high hopes this 2.1 update would fix the issue, but it didn't. Oh well I guess.... Time to start complaining...
     
  4. ramiss

    ramiss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    55
    Yeah. It is also possible that this is a defect with certain hardware. Either way I would highly recommend replacing your phone on the premise of this issue.

    FYI.. It is Sprint's policy to 'upgrade' your phone on the 4th replacement. However, some Sprint stores will deny this. If they do then try another store.
     
  5. pastafarian

    pastafarian P√Ętes avec votre foie Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5,622
    Likes Received:
    4,625
    I think it's now safe to say after 2 major software updates that the radio issues many have with this phone are hardware related. To cut Samsung some slack, I've owned 3 different HTC model phones in the past and each has had a fairly major prevalent hardware flaw that was never addressed (bt and headset jack on the 6700, screen spot on the 6800/Mogul, Oily screen on the 6950/TP). Good luck getting a replacement, the squeaky wheel gets the grease. I've had much better experiences dealing in store than via the web chat. Personally, the radio issues aren't that bad for me and I'm planning on sitting tight with the Moment till at least my November Premier upgrade date. EVerytime I get frustrated with this phone, I try to remember how much worse it was with WinMo.
     
  6. jasonamd

    jasonamd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    18
    Good luck with a replacment. Especially if you go for the EVO or something pretty new...you'll most likely just end up with a whole new set of issues that will need to be fixed. I haven't owned a phone in the last 8 years or so that was flawless and probably never will since phone companies (not just Samsung) seem to like to use the consumer as it's beta tester instead of making sure everything works before the phone goes out the door. Luckily most issues have eventually been fixed or not been annoying enough for me to need another phone...I just learned to live with the issues or found ways to not make them happen.

    I've never had the airplane mode bug on the Moment (2 different ones) so there has to be either some defective hardware out there or some app or something triggering it. I have the occasional data lockup, but it ALWAYS happens after I've been using wi-fi. If I don't use wi-fi or reboot my phone after using wi-fi it will never happen.
     
  7. rmac1813

    rmac1813 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    after i got an rma (new - not refurbed device) my airplane mode / cdma lockups went down dramatically. i see it happen every 2 weeks or so.. which is manageable.
     
  8. gmjlopez

    gmjlopez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    4
    After upgrading to 2.1 I haven't had a data lockup or airplane mode yet...I'm still keeping my fingers crossed!
     
  9. flu13

    flu13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    24
    I haven't had airplane mode, but I get data lockup quite often.
     
  10. mrmojoz

    mrmojoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    63
    I think some people use the airplane mode/CDMA lockup terms interchangeably, but I have seen both under CL05. So far DE03 has only shown me CDMA lockups.
     
  11. flu13

    flu13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    24
    Good point. I'll clarify what I'm seeing: My EV icon will get stuck with the up arrow lit and the down arrow dark and I can't browse the web or market or read email or anything. However, I can still talk and text.
     
  12. colettak

    colettak Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Unfortunately I've still hit both issues. Woke up this morning to a phone in airplane mode, and have gotten data lockups a few times. I've noticed almost every time I leave it on and plugged in overnight (and connected to wifi) I have an issue. There definitely seems to be some correlation between wifi and the issues. I'm considering calling sprint to complain. Not getting calls for hours because I don't realize my phone is locked up is kind of a deal breaker, but I have doubts sprint will do anything.
     
  13. danooooo

    danooooo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Before the official update was released I applied dd10 and haven't had the airplane mode issue. It's been a week so far.
     
  14. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Turn on wifi.
     

Share This Page

Loading...