signal reception?General


Last Updated:

  1. tigris

    tigris Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got a replacement phone due to the silent call issue and
    I didn't get the silent bug yet (for 4 days).
    But it seems like a bug fix has been released just yesterday anyway...
    Oh well....

    Anyway, I don't know if I'm just imagining, but it seems like I am getting less bars than before. I used to get 3 or 4 bars at home and at my office, but now I'm only getting ~2 bars. But as soon as I dial a number and press send, it jumps right up to 4 bars. Maybe this is a non-issue?

    I vaguely remember reading something similar in this forum, but I couldn't find it. Has this issue been reported? Is this related to the 50% signal issue or the signal meter issue? Can someone point me to the right thread?

    I sort of regret getting a replacement, especially now that a bug fix has been released. I didn't send the old phone back yet. I wonder if I can keep the old one and send the new one back...
     

    Advertisement
  2. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    It's not really a big issue. It's more cosmetic than anything. It's well known that they messed with something in the 2.1 update with the signal meter. So now its nearly impossible to get 4 bars of 3G unless you have a perfect signal. Unless you are seeing internet speeds going radically slower or your dropping calls, its fine.

    And the reason why your signal meter goes up when you make a phone call is because you are reverting back to a 1X 2G signal for voice (Verizon's 3G service can't handle voice). As a rule of thumb, your 1X signal is generally higher than your 3G signal. And that's why it goes up to 4 bars.

    Sent from my Eris using Tapatalk
     
  3. tigris

    tigris Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see. That's good to know. Thanks!

    Just curious. Is the issue with all Erises (Erii?), or with just some of them?
     
  4. eghill1125

    eghill1125 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    14
    I believe it is all of them on 2.1 that have the issue.
     
  5. boxer

    boxer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was wondering the same thing. My replacement phone is arriving today but I've never had any problems with my original phone until the silent bug. I'd really like to keep my original if this update fixes the silent bug.
     
  6. jaydroid

    jaydroid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I still feel I have much worse reception after the update. I can get 3G in my house, but I cannot send a text or make a call. The reception on this phone has never been anything to write home about, but I feel it is worse now. I like the phone for the most part, but the signal reception is subpar.
     
  7. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172

    Have you performed *22899 to update the PRL?
     
  8. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
  9. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Yeppers. It is, in most Eris devices running 2.1 anyway, what I call a "display issue."

    The reception is there, unless you truly are experiencing poorer performance, but the bars are not.
     
  10. srmccoy

    srmccoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    9
    I actually found a spot in town that showed 4 bars of 3g. I almost didn't believe it was possible.
     
  11. Jareris

    Jareris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    Lol the elusive 4 bars.
     
  12. hakr100

    hakr100 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    62
    What signal meter are you fellas referring to ? If I have one built in, I never see it...
    Maybe I turned it off by accident?
     
  13. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Immediately to the left of the battery meter..

    [​IMG]
     
  14. gemmy

    gemmy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    did anyone else get a bug fix update yet? I didn't:(
     

Share This Page

Loading...