Silence Start-Up?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Glucklichste

    Glucklichste Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    3
    I must be missing something obvious, or at least I hope, but I'd really like the phone to start quietly. If I wanted to turn this thing on in a place where I wanted to be silent, I wouldn't dare. Right now it starts with a roar! Please tell me there's an easy way to make those start-up screens silent ...
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    Requires root:

    Navigate to "system" folder, then "etc"

    Scroll down to PowerOn.wav

    Rename it to PowerOn.wav.old
     
  3. avgazn91

    avgazn91 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    2
    well, if you have your phone on silent or vibrate before you shut it off, it starts up silent.
     
  4. fldude99

    fldude99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    69
    Just go into sound and display menu and turn your system volume down to zero-no root required
     
  5. kaepos

    kaepos Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    x2, it'll give a short (almost unnoticeable) vibration instead.
     
  6. Glucklichste

    Glucklichste Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks, I guess no system volume it is. I just hoped I'd missed some easy check box for silencing the startup. Funny how my first smartphone doesn't give that specific option, but every other cell I've had did. :p
     
  7. avgazn91

    avgazn91 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    2
    Agree. Smart phones are stupid in way too many ways. Its ironic
     
  8. fldude99

    fldude99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    69
    One little tidbit: After putting the system volume to the bottom..if you use google nav, for some reason it will max the system volume, so you have to remember to go back in and turn it down if you don't wanna freak out next time you reboot
     
    Glucklichste likes this.
  9. Glucklichste

    Glucklichste Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for the heads up, just a bug? I know in the nav it has its own "navigation volume" when you go up/down so that seems weird.

    Also ... it explains why even though I didn't have it off before, I had it low and somehow the startup was insanely loud. I've been playing with Google Nav, that's why!
     
  10. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    True. And that's why I recommended a permanent fix in my reply.
     

Share This Page

Loading...