SIM from iPhone to Captivate?


Last Updated:

  1. blackhemi

    blackhemi Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    8
    Im getting my Captivate soon, and I currently have the unlimited data with at&t for my iPhone. Can i simply remove my sim card from the iPhone and start using it in the captivate? I dont want to take a chance of them messing up my account and losing my unlimited plan.

    Matt
     

    Advertisement
  2. thejtl

    thejtl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    2
    That's what I did.
     
  3. blackhemi

    blackhemi Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    8
    awesome, I think im going to try that. Less potential headaches that way :)
     
  4. Steemax

    Steemax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1


    Same here :D and the AT&T employee left my iphone unlimited data plan on since theres no difference.
     
  5. Futang44

    Futang44 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Only dif is the visual voicemail. They switched mine and let me keep data...
     
  6. blackhemi

    blackhemi Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    8
    no biggie for me, i have my google voice for voicemail, and google voice also does my cell number from at&t.

    I cant wait for this phone!!!
     
  7. jblaze5779

    jblaze5779 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    9
    unless you have the iphone4 which uses a micro sim
     
  8. blackhemi

    blackhemi Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    8
    3gs. did not have a desire to go past 3gs....and im glad. the death grip would have been no good for me :)
     
  9. mi04se1

    mi04se1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    7
    Checked my online account before I took the sim card out of the iphone and it showed I had an iphone. After I switched sims, logged onto my account and it showed I had the Captivate.
     
  10. texas_archer

    texas_archer Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the Iphone 1st Gen (Edge) and they took my SIM card from my Iphone and put it in my Captivate.
     
  11. blackhemi

    blackhemi Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    8
    I bought my Captivate today, walked to my truck, took my sim out of the iphone, put it in the Captivate, powered on, made a phone call. :) Works great, and I love this phone.
     
  12. CLRana9017

    CLRana9017 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Be wary, though. Sometimes, they make you activate a new SIM so you can agree to the new contract. They made me do that and I almost lost my unlimited data plan and, for S&G, they took away my messaging plan. I was so angry that I made them put back both plans and give me credit.
     
  13. feefay

    feefay New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    For those of you who used your iphone sim on a captivate and kept your unlimited data plan, did you buy the phone at the full price or could you get upgrade pricing?
     
  14. BigCiX

    BigCiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,593
    Likes Received:
    363
    how about the other way around. can i take the sim card out of my captivate and put it back in my iphone 3G? Going to the beach and i rater take my old 3G to the sand rather then my new device.
     
  15. ranova

    ranova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    74
    yea, it works the same way
     

Share This Page

Loading...