Simple question for expertsGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. Teris

    Teris Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have switched to the Incredible from the BB Storm and am having difficulty locating the place where I can input words for auto-correct. For example, in my Storm, I set "u" to auto-correct to "you," "wd" to auto-correct to "would," etc. Is there a place to do this in the Incredible? If so, how does one access it? Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    AFAIK it doesn't work that way, but I don't have a Inc myself. I know when using the HTC keyboard it doesn't have that option.
     
  3. fortesquieu

    fortesquieu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    144
    Go to Menu->Settings->Language & Keyboard->Touch Input->Text Input

    You will see all kinds of settings there. :)
     
    Hu5t13Man likes this.
  4. 1967ls2

    1967ls2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    25
    Mine has been giving me the option input words into the custom dictionary as I am typing new words. If there is a word that isn't in there right after I type it, it will show up as one of the suggested words in auto correction field. I just touch the new word I just typed and then it says saving the new word. Next time I type that word it is already in the auto correction programming...
     
  5. Teris

    Teris Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks, but I don't see a setting that allows me to add words and auto-substitute for them. That is, I can't add a word like "ppl" and make the Inc auto-change that to "people" in a SMS or email.
     
  6. Teris

    Teris Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    4
    This sounds closer to what I'm looking for, but does it allow you to type letters that wouldn't ordinarily prompt a full word? For example, "ppl" wouldn't ordinarily prompt the spell check to correct that to "people," so is there a place to type in a list of words (e.g., "ppl") to auto-correct to other words (e.g., "people")? Thanks for the replies, everyone.
     
  7. scooterpd

    scooterpd New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    * If only they could make AutoHotKey for Android. I use AHK to make hotstrings (text-expansion) on my PC, and it's a total time saver. I'm going to look into it, but I'm not too hopeful.
     
  8. Teris

    Teris Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    4
    Is there nothing like that for the Inc? Blackberry is way ahead of Inc in several respects that I can see almost immediately, even though the Storm was not a great device.
     
  9. nightfishing

    nightfishing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    111
    Coming from a bb, also, I missed this function (for about 4 hours LOL). The Android predictive function is much much better than the bb, so it became a non issue very quickly.

    Add Swype and the balance shifts very heavily to the Inc!
     
  10. bowl443

    bowl443 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    4
    Close, but I think they were looking for this

    Menu->Settings->Language & Keyboard->Touch Input->User Dictionary
     
  11. Haelous

    Haelous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    111
    Wouldn't your WPM still be higher typing with Swype than with a word/character replacing feature such as this?

    I think you should try, and if you're still slower and it upsets you, then you may have found a feature that's most important to you in a phone.
     
  12. Teris

    Teris Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yeah, but typing "ttyl" into a Blackberry and having it write out the full message saves way more time than just predictive type in Inc. I haven't tried Swype yet, but I'll give it a try.
     
  13. Teris

    Teris Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    4
    Nope, not the problem. I'm not worried about the phone changing a word, I'm worried about it NOT changing words that I want to substitute.
     
  14. Teris

    Teris Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yeah, it's not a dealbreaker or anything, it's just a great feature in the BB that I'm surprised is not in the Inc. But I will try Swype. Thanks for the reply.
     
  15. rhippler

    rhippler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    17
    Holy crap so that is where you turn the vibrate off. had haptic off but it still buzzed on the kbd.
     
  16. Hu5t13Man

    Hu5t13Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0


    OMG, Ive been trying to figure this out since the incredible launch date! THANKS SO MUCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...